Skip to main content

People

Faculty by Classification

  • Core Faculty
  • Cluster Affiliated Faculty
  • Research Professors
  • Instructional Faculty
  • Emeritus Faculty
  • Core Faculty

    These faculty have primary appointments in the Chemistry Department.


    Faculty Profile Image

    Boeckman, Robert K., Jr.

    Marshall D. Gates, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
    Associate Editor for the Journal of Organic Chemistry

    rkb@rkbmac.chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4229
    451 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Total synthesis of alkaloids, terpenes, antibiotics, and antitumor agents; development of new synthetic methodology; applications of con­formational theory

    Faculty Profile Image

    Bren, Kara L.

    Professor of Chemistry
    bren@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4335
    448 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Bioinorganic and biophysical chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Dinnocenzo, Joseph P.

    Professor of Chemistry
    jpd@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8351
    463 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Mechanistic and physical organic chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Eisenberg, Richard

    Tracy H. Harris Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus
    eisenberg@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5573
    B24 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Inorganic and organometallic chemistry; synthesis, structure and reaction chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Farrar, James M.

    Professor of Chemistry
    farrar@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5834
    B19 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Dynamical studies of low energy ion-molecule reactions in the gas phase; imaging studies of collisions; photochemistry of size-selected ionic clusters

    Faculty Profile Image

    Fasan, Rudi

    Associate Professor of Chemistry
    fasan@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 273-3504
    416 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Bioorganic chemistry, biocatalysis, chemical biology; macrocyclic peptide inhibitors of protein-protein interactions; metalloenzyme design and engineering; chemoenzymatic synthesis

    Faculty Profile Image

    Franco, Ignacio

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Physics
    ignacio.franco@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8209
    454 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Frontier, Alison J.

    Professor of Chemistry
    frontier@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2568
    414 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Synthetic organic chemistry; synthesis of bioactive natural products; pericyclic reactions; asymmetric catalysis; cationic cascades

    Faculty Profile Image

    Goodman, Joshua L.

    Professor of Chemistry
    goodman@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4891
    460 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Mechanistic Organic Chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Huo, Pengfei

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry
    huo@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7793
    415 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Physical and theoretical chemistry; ab-initio dynamics for understanding chemistry; photo physics of solar energy conversion

    Faculty Profile Image

    Jones, William D.

    Charles F. Houghton Professor of Chemistry
    jones@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5493
    B26 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Mechanistic Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis

    Faculty Profile Image

    Knowles, Kathryn

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry
    knowles@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0649
    457 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Inorganic Materials Chemistry

    Todd D. Krauss

    Krauss, Todd D.

    Professor of Chemistry
    Professor of Optics

    Chair for Chemistry Department
    krauss@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5093
    465 Hutchinson
    Website

    Interests: Nanoscale Materials and Devices

    Faculty Profile Image

    Krugh, Thomas R.

    Professor of Chemistry
    krugh@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4224
    459 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Biophysical chemistry; structural analysis of biomolecules, energy minimization and molecular dynamics calculations

    Faculty Profile Image

    Matson, Ellen

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry
    matson@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7792
    B45 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    McCamant, David W.

    Associate Professor of Chemistry
    mccamant@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3122
    B30 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Ultrafast spectroscopy of molecular dynamics in photochemistry; mechanisms of vibrational relaxation

    Faculty Profile Image

    Neidig, Michael L.

    Wilmot Associate Professor of Chemistry
    neidig@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6006
    B32 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Physical-inorganic chemistry and catalysis

    Faculty Profile Image

    Nilsson, Bradley L.

    Associate Professor of Chemistry
    nilsson@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3053
    417 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Peptide self-assembly; amyloid peptides; amyloid-inspired materials; bioorganic chemistry; supramolecular chemistry

    Faculty Profile Image

    Rothberg, Lewis

    Professor of Chemistry
    Professor of Chemical Engineering

    lewis.rothberg@rochester.edu
    462 Hutchinson Hall
    Website

    Interests: Polymer electronics; optoelectronic devices; light-emitting diodes; thin-film transistors; photodetectors; xerographic photoreceptors; biological sensors; electrooptic modulators

    Faculty Profile Image

    Schröder, Wolf-Udo

    Professor of Chemistry
    Professor of Physics

    schroeder@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8263
    466 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Dynamics of Complex Nuclear Reactions at intermediate and high energies

    Faculty Profile Photo

    Tang, Ching W.

    Professor; Professor of Chemistry
    ching.tang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3552
    4009 Wegmans Hall
    Website

    Interests: Organic Electronics; Thin-Film Devices; Display Technology; Organic Light Emitting Diodes; Organic Solar Cells; II-VI Semiconductors; CdTe Solar Cells; Thin-Film Deposition & Characterization

    Faculty Profile Image

    Turner, Douglas H.

    Professor of Chemistry
    turner@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3207
    B08 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Biophysical chemistry: nucleic acid structure and function, RNA folding, therapeutics, and prediction of structure from sequence

    Faculty Profile Image

    Weix, Daniel J.

    Associate Professor of Chemistry
    weix@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8383
    412 Hutchison Hall
    Website

    Interests: Organic methods development; transition-metal catalyzed reactions; organometallic chemistry; mechanism

    Back to top

    Cluster Affiliated Faculty

    Faculty in the Clusters have primary appointments in other departments but can mentor Chemistry graduate students.


    Faculty Profile Image

    DeLouise, Lisa A.

    Associate Professor of Dermatology
    Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

    lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1810

    Interests: Engineering Smart Bandage Bio Nanomaterials for Healing Skin

    Faculty Profile Image

    Dunman, Paul

    Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    paul_dunman@urmc.rochester.edu

    Interests: Use of S. aureus and A. baumannii as model organisms to study bacterial pathogenesis and develop novel strategies for the therapeutic intervention of bacterial infections

    Faculty Profile Image

    Ermolenko, Dmitri

    Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    dmitri_ermolenko@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3704
    3-8555 Medical Center
    Website

    Interests: Mechanisms of protein synthesis; Single–molecule microscopy; Mechanics of molecular motors

    Sina Ghaemmaghami

    Ghaemmaghami, Sina

    Assistant Professor
    sghaemma@bio.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4829
    326A Hutchison
    Website

    Interests: Protein folding and degradation; Neurodegenerative diseases and aging; Prion biology; Proteomics

    Faculty Profile Image

    Grossfield, Alan M.

    Associate Professor Biochemistry and Biophysics
    alan_grossfield@urmc.rochester.edu

    Interests: Investigating membranes and membrane proteins via computer simulation

    Faculty Profile Image

    Kielkopf, Clara L.

    Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    clara_kielkopf@urmc.rochester.edu

    Interests: Splicing defects in hematologic malignancies; roles of human pre-mRNA splicing factors in HIV-1 infectivity; development of engineered splicing factors for correction of splicing defects; splice sites and their associated proteins as therapeutic targets

    Faculty Profile Image

    Krysan, Damian J.

    Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Infectious Diseases
    Associate Professorof Microbiology and Immunology

    damian_krysan@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9729

    Interests: Fungal Cell Wall Biology and High Throughput Screening for Antifungal Drugs

    Faculty Profile Image

    Mathews, David H.

    Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    Associate Professor of Biostatistics and Computational Biology

    david_mathews@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1734
    Website

    Interests: Computational biology of RNA, including structure prediction, molecular dynamics, and genomics

    Faculty Profile Image

    Miller, Benjamin L.

    Professor of Dermatology
    Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    Professor of the Institute for Optics

    benjamin_miller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9805

    Interests: Developing new strategies for the sequence-selective recognition of RNA, and using the optical properties of nanostructured materials for the production of novel biosensors

    Faculty Profile Photo

    Mukaibo, Hitomi

    Assistant Professor
    hitomi.mukaibo@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2355
    4307  Wegmans Hall
    Website

    Interests: Bioanalytical Chemistry; Bio-Nanoscience; Electrochemistry; Energy Storage & Production; Biosensors; Chemistry at Interfaces; Materials Science

    Faculty Profile Image

    Phizicky, Eric M.

    Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    eric_phizicky@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7268

    Interests: tRNA biogenesis, function and quality control; intellectual disability due to deficiencies in tRNA modifications

    Faculty Profile Image

    Shestopalov, Alexander A.

    Assistant Professor
    alexander.shestopalov@rochester.edu | (585) 276-5434
    4507 Wegmans Hall
    Website

    Interests: Surface Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Surface Patterning; Nanostructured Materials; Interfacial Thermodynamics

    Faculty Profile Image

    Wedekind, Joseph E.

    Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
    joseph.wedekind@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4516

    Interests: Structure and function analysis of gene regulation by riboswitches and microRNAs as a basis for therapeutic development

    Back to top

    Research Professors

    Research professors do not accept graduate students, but have active research programs within the department.


    Faculty Profile Image

    Ebetino, Frank Hal

    Professor of Chemistry, Research
    febetino@ur.rochester.edu | (513) 532-4084
    Website

    Interests: Medicinal chemistry and drug design, including bisphosphonates and bone targeted drugs for arthritis and cancer, receptor agonists/antagonists, and epigenetic enzyme inhibitors

    Faculty Profile Image

    Farid, Samir

    Professor of Chemistry, Research
    farid@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8398
    220E Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Photo-induced Electron Transfer Reactions

    Faculty Profile Image

    Mort, Brendan

    Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Research
    Director of the Center for Integrated Research and Computing
    brendan.mort@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8289
    418 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: High performance computing; application of computing technology to chemistry and biology; computational chemistry algorithm development; molecular dynamics simulations, electronic structure theory

    Back to top

    Instructional Faculty


    Faculty Profile Image

    Hafensteiner, Benjamin

    Faculty Lecturer
    benjamin.hafensteiner@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1936
    124 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Chemical education; total synthesis of natural products; organic synthesis; reaction invention and investigation; cascade reactions

    Faculty Profile Image

    Olsen, John-Carl

    Assistant Professor of Teaching
    john-carl.olsen@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8308
    104 Hutchison Hall

    Interests: Chemical education; topologically non-trivial molecules and metal-ligand assemblies; nanoparticles for drug delivery; total synthesis

    Back to top

    Emeritus Faculty

    Emeritus faculty no longer teach courses or graduate students, but many are still active contributors to the intellectual life of the department, serving as co-advisors, mentors, and running research programs.


    Faculty Profile Image

    Kende, Andrew S.

    Charles F. Houghton Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus
    alumni@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4231

    Interests: Strategy and Tactics in Organic Synthesis

    Faculty Profile Image

    Kreilick, Robert W.

    Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
    kreilick@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4231

    Interests: Magnetic and Electrical Properties of Solids: Rapid Motion in Solids, Structure of Solids, Energy Transfer in Solids

    Faculty Profile Image

    Muenter, John S.

    Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
    muenter@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4231

    Interests: Spectroscopic Studies of Molecular Properties and Dynamics

    Faculty Profile Image

    Saunders, William H., Jr.

    Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
    saunders@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4231

    Interests: Physical organic chemistry: mechanisms of elimination reactions; isotope effects and isotopic tracers in the study of organic reaction mechanisms; proton transfers; ab initio and vbscf calculations

    Back to top