People

Materials Chemistry Faculty

Core Faculty

These faculty have primary appointments in the Chemistry Department.


Faculty Profile Image

Eisenberg, Richard

Tracy H. Harris Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus
eisenberg@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5573
B24 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Inorganic and organometallic chemistry; synthesis, structure and reaction chemistry

Faculty Profile Image

Franco, Ignacio

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Physics
ignacio.franco@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8209
454 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Faculty Profile Image

Huo, Pengfei

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
huo@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7793
415 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Physical and theoretical chemistry; ab-initio dynamics for understanding chemistry; photo physics of solar energy conversion

Faculty Profile Image

Knowles, Kathryn

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
knowles@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0649
457 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Inorganic Materials Chemistry

Todd D. Krauss

Krauss, Todd D.

Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Optics

Chair of Chemistry Department
krauss@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5093
465 Hutchinson
Website

Interests: Nanoscale Materials and Devices

Faculty Profile Image

McCamant, David W.

Associate Professor of Chemistry
mccamant@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3122
B30 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Ultrafast spectroscopy of molecular dynamics in photochemistry; mechanisms of vibrational relaxation

Faculty Profile Image

Rothberg, Lewis

Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Chemical Engineering

lewis.rothberg@rochester.edu
462 Hutchinson Hall
Website

Interests: Polymer electronics; optoelectronic devices; light-emitting diodes; thin-film transistors; photodetectors; xerographic photoreceptors; biological sensors; electrooptic modulators

Faculty Profile Photo

Tang, Ching W.

Professor; Professor of Chemistry
ching.tang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3552
101A Gavett Hall
Website

Interests: Organic Electronics; Thin-Film Devices; Display Technology; Organic Light Emitting Diodes; Organic Solar Cells; II-VI Semiconductors; CdTe Solar Cells; Thin-Film Deposition & Characterization

Top ↑

Cluster Affiliated Faculty

Faculty in the Clusters have primary appointments in other departments but can mentor Chemistry graduate students.


Faculty Profile Image

DeLouise, Lisa A.

Associate Professor of Dermatology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1810

Interests: Engineering Smart Bandage Bio Nanomaterials for Healing Skin

Faculty Profile Image

Miller, Benjamin L.

Professor of Dermatology
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of the Institute for Optics

benjamin_miller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9805

Interests: Developing new strategies for the sequence-selective recognition of RNA, and using the optical properties of nanostructured materials for the production of novel biosensors

Faculty Profile Photo

Mukaibo, Hitomi

Assistant Professor
hitomi.mukaibo@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2355
201E Gavett Hall
Website

Interests: Bioanalytical Chemistry; Bio-Nanoscience; Electrochemistry; Energy Storage & Production; Biosensors; Chemistry at Interfaces; Materials Science

Faculty Profile Image

Shestopalov, Alexander A.

Assistant Professor
alexander.shestopalov@rochester.edu | (585) 276-5434
248 Gavett Hall
Website

Interests: Surface Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Surface Patterning; Nanostructured Materials; Interfacial Thermodynamics

Top ↑

Research Professors

Research professors do not accept graduate students, but have active research programs within the department.


Faculty Profile Image

Farid, Samir

Professor of Chemistry, Research
farid@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8398
220E Hutchison Hall

Interests: Photo-induced Electron Transfer Reactions