Skip to main content

People

Full Directory

 

A


Person's photo

Alfaro, Raquel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish
ralfaro@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4176
424 Lattimore Hall

B


KRISTINA BECKER MALETT

Becker Malett, Kristina

Lecturer in German
tbecker@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
411 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Berk, Philip R.

Retired Professor of French Literature
pberk@rochester.rr.com

Person's photo

Bernardi, Joanne

Professor of Japanese and Film and Media Studies
Head for the Japanese Program
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
409 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture, especially popular culture; film and media studies; visual and material culture; moving image archiving and preservation; travel and tourism studies; nuclear culture; digital humanities; ephemera studies; object-based learning

Person's photo

Bridges, William H., IV

Assistant Professor of Japanese
wbridges@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2235
407 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Modern Japanese language, literature, and culture; Race and ethnicity in modern Japanese literature and culture; Contemporary Japanese popular culture, especially anime; 20th-century African American literature; Literary theory, especially African American literary theory and the theory of the novel; Translation (theory and practice); Rhetoric and composition; Digital Humanities

Person's photo

Brown, Michelle Young

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
michelleybrown@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
432A Lattimore Hall

C


Person's photo

Cho, Myounghee

Lecturer in Korean
myounghee.cho@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5382
539 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Language pedagogy; language acquisition; Korean linguistics; socio-pragmatics; curriculum design; development of learning and teaching methodologies and materials

Jennifer L. Creech

Creech, Jennifer L.

Associate Professor of German
jennifer.creech@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4273
428 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Post-1945 German studies; film studies; gender studies; cultural studies

D


Person's photo

Doran, Robert

Professor of French and Comparative Literature
Head for the French Program
Head for the Comparative Literature Program

robert.doran@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
414 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century French literature and culture; the novel; continental philosophy; literary theory; aesthetics; intellectual history; European cinema; existentialism

Andrée Douchin

Douchin, Andrée

Retired Senior Lecturer in French

Person's Photo

Drexel, Joanna

Department Manager
joanna.drexel@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4253

G


Person's photo

Givens, Laura

Senior Lecturer in Russian
laura.givens@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4261
423 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Russian language; translation

Person's photo

Givens, John

Associate Professor of Russian
Chair for the Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
Head for the Russian Program

johngivens@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
408A Lattimore Hall

Interests: Russian language and literature; Russian film; translation

Susan Gustafson

Gustafson, Susan E.

Karl F. and Bertha A. Fuchs Professor of German Studies
Head for the German Program
susangustafson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
425 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: German literature of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries; feminism and gender studies; psychoanalysis

H


Person's photo

Hardy, Shizuka

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
shardy3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5382
539 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Herminghouse, Patricia A.

Karl F. and Bertha A. Fuchs Professor Emerita of German Studies
pahe64@gmail.com

Person's photo

Holloway, David

Assistant Professor of Japanese
david.holloway@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
412 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Contemporary Japanese fiction; gender and sexuality; youth cultures and subcultures; transgression; Japan's "lost decade"

Person's photo

Huang, Ting

Senior Lecturer in Chinese
ting.huang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2456
404 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Qualitative research methods; sociocultural theory; new literacy studies; online learning; video learning; classical and modern Chinese texts; teaching Chinese as foreign language at all levels

Person's photo

Hwang, June J.

Associate Professor of German
june.hwang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
429 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century film; literature and critical theory

J


Beth Jörgensen

Jörgensen, Beth E.

Professor of Spanish
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4265
422 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century Spanish-American literature, with an emphasis on Mexico; women writers; theory and practice of literary nonfiction; Mexican chronicle; disability studies

K


Cilas Kemedjio

Kemedjio, Cilas

Professor of French
Director for the Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies
cilaskemedjio@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5346
311B Morey Hall

Interests: Francophone Caribbean and African literary and cultural studies; postcolonial theory; transnational black studies; humanitarianism

UR photo

Kiley, Laurie

Department Secretary
laurie.kiley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251

Person's photo

Komocki, Kirt

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
kkomocki@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5524
427 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Spanish theatre, particularly the works of Nicolás and Leandro Fernández de Moratín, and Ramón de la Cruz); nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century Spanish poetry

Person's photo

Korn, Andrew

Lecturer in Italian
andrew.korn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4849
411 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Modern Italian literature and film; Critical Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cinema Studies

L


Person's photo

Lutkus, Anne

Retired Language Coordinator and Lecturer in French
alutkus@rochester.rr.com

M


Person's photo

Maslennikov, Nikita

Senior Lecturer in Russian
nmaslenn@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4176
424 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Maslennikova, Anna

Senior Lecturer in Russian
anna.maslennikova@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4261
423 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Murano, Teresa

Senior Lecturer in Italian
teresamurano@gmail.com | (585) 275-8208
432A Lattimore Hall

N


Person's photo

Nasra, Carole

Lecturer in French
cnasra@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7112
421 Lattimore Hall

O


Person's photo

O'Keefe, Luisa

Retired Senior Lecturer in Italian
lokeefe@ur.rochester.edu

P


Person's photo

Papaioannou, Julie

Senior Lecturer in French and Francophone Studies
Language Coordinator for French

julie.papaioannou@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5524
427 Lattimore Hall

Interests: French language and culture; French and Francophone literature and film (twentieth and twenty-first centuries); French literary translation; French criticism, literary and postcolonial theory

Person's photo

Pian, Ping

Senior Lecturer in Chinese
ping.pian@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2456
404 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Pollack, David

Retired Professor of Japanese
david.pollack@rochester.edu

Person's photo

Prendergast, Ryan

Associate Professor of Spanish
ryan.prendergast@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4113
430 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Representations of identity and difference in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Spain and Spanish America

R


Person's photo

Radegonde-Eison, Ghislaine

French Instructor
Program Manager for the Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies
ghislaineradegonde-eison@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9161
311A Morey Hall

Person's photo

Rodríguez-Hernández, Raúl

Associate Professor of Spanish, Comparative Literature, and Film and Media Studies
Head for the Spanish Program
raul.rodriguez-hernandez@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4257
420 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth- and twenty-first-century Hispanic literatures and cultures; literary theory; Frankfurt School; European philosophical traditions in Latin America; Latin American cinema; the visual arts; the Baroque and Neo-Baroque; the Gothic tradition

Person's photo

Rojas-Rimachi, Luisa-Maria

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
l.rojas-rimachi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7112
421 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Language ideology in higher education; foreign language learning; aesthetic judgment in cultures in contact; contemporary Latin American literature and cultural studies; cultural discourse analysis

Person's photo

Rosensweig, Anna

Assistant Professor of French
Undergraduate Advisor for French

annarosensweig@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2367
426 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Early modern French literature and culture; theater and performance studies; political theory

S


Person's photo

Schaefer, Claudia

Rush Rhees Chair
Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
Professor of Film and Media Studies

claudia.schaefer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5569
418 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Nineteenth-, twentieth- and twenty-first-century Hispanic literatures and cultures; Spanish cinema; critical theory; popular culture; the visual arts; Spanish modernity; the culture of science in Spain; surrealism in Spain; digital humanities

Person's photo

Shino, Fumino

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
fumino.mclaughlin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9247
407A Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Siniscalco, Federico

Visiting Assistant Professor of Italian (Arezzo)
federico.siniscalco@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5723
405 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Spence, Yasuko

Adjunct Instructor in Japanese
yasuko_spence@msn.com

Person's photo

Stocchi-Perucchio, Donatella

Associate Professor of Italian
Head for the Italian Program
donatella.stocchi-perucchio@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5723
405 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Dante; nineteenth-century poetry and prose; fascism

T


Person's photo

Taguchi, Yuki

Adjunct Instructor in Japanese
yuki.taguchi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
432A Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Tamate, Mariko

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
mariko.tamate@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9247
407A Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

ter Horst, Robert

Retired Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
maxim@rochester.rr.com

Person's photo

Tian, Guoming

Lecturer in Chinese
gtian2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8208
432A Lattimore Hall

Kristen Totleben

Totleben, Kristen

Modern Languages & Cultures Librarian
ktotleben@library.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9304
Website

Profile Picture

Tschanz, Cathy

Academic Program Assistant
catherine.tschanz@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4252

V


Person's photo

Valdez, Maria Teresa

Director of the Language Center
Head for the Portuguese Program
tvaldez@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5156
305E Douglass Hall

Interests: Portuguese language instruction; foreign-language pedagogy; second- and foreign-language acquisition and development; heritage-language acquisition and development; teaching and learning methodologies for foreign, second, and heritage languages; second- and heritage-language learning materials; online language instruction

W


Person's photo

Weber, Elizabeth E.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese
e.e.weber@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
402 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Migration; race; labor; Asian American Studies; modern and late Qing Chinese literature; late Qing nationalism; late Qing history; international trade routes in the Age of Empire

Person's photo

Wojciechowska, Malgorzata

Visiting Instructor of Polish
wmalgorz@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-1952
101 Harkness Hall