Skip to main content

Undergraduate Program

Advisors

Program Advisors for MLC:

  • Advising Services for Current Studies: Authorized Signature List
  • Transfer Credit: For the first two years of language study, see appropriate section below
  • Transfer Credit: Any faculty member (Major and/or Minor)

Undergraduate advisors are organized by the following areas:

 


Chinese

Elizabeth Weber
Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese, Chinese Program Advisor
Lattimore 402
(585) 275-4251
e.e.weber@rochester.edu
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 1-2pm, or by appointment

Ping Pian
Associate Professor of Instruction in Chinese, Chinese Program Advisor
Lattimore 404
(585) 275-4251
ping.pian@rochester.edu
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 3:30-4:30pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


Comparative Literature

Robert Doran
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 414
(585) 275-4251
robert.doran@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Wednesdays 6-8pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


French

Anna Rosensweig
Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 426
(585) 275-4251
anna.rosensweig@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 11am-1pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


German

Susan Gustafson
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 425
(585) 275-4251
susangustafson@rochester.edu 
Office hours: By appointment only

Top ↑


Italian

Donatella Stocchi-Perucchio
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 405
(585) 275-5723
donatella.stocchi-perucchio@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 4:45-5:30pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


Japanese

David Holloway
Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 412
(585) 275-4251
david.holloway@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Mondays 4:45-6:45pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


Latin American Studies

Beth Jörgensen
Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 422
(585) 275-4265
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu 
Office hours: By appointment only

Top ↑


Portuguese

Teresa Valdez
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Douglass 305E
(585) 275-5156, 
tvaldez@ur.rochester.edu 
Office hours: Mondays 11am-12pm (POR 151), Wednesdays 1-2pm (POR 101), or by appointment

Top ↑


Russian and Russian Studies

John Givens
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 408A
(585) 276-5856
johngivens@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2-3pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


Spanish

Raúl Rodríguez-Hernández
Program Head, clusters, study abroad credit for clusters, Take-Fives, placement appeals 
Lattimore 420
(585) 275-4257
raul.rodriguez-hernandez@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 1-2pm, or by appointment

Beth Jörgensen
On Leave, Fall 2018
Lattimore 422
(585) 275-4265
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu 
Office hours: By appointment only 

Ryan Prendergast
Undergraduate Advisor (Majors and Minors N–Z), transfers and study abroad credit
Lattimore 430
(585) 275-4113
ryan.prendergast@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Tuesdays 9:30-10:30am, Thursdays 12:45-1:45pm, or by appointment

Claudia Schaefer
Undergraduate Advisor (Majors and Minors A-M, transfers and study abroad credit
Lattimore 418
(585) 275-5569
claudia.schaefer@rochester.edu 
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2-3pm, or by appointment

Michelle Brown
Placement
Lattimore 432A
michelleybrown@rochester.edu
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2:50-3:30pm, or by appointment

Top ↑


General Inquires

John Givens
Department Chair
Lattimore 408A
(585) 276-5856
johngivens@rochester.edu

Laurie Kiley
Department Secretary
Lattimore 403
(585) 275-4251
laurie.kiley@rochester.edu

Top ↑