People

Faculty

 

B

KRISTINA BECKER MALETT

Becker Malett, Kristina

Lecturer in German
tbecker@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1610
ET 605 Eastman School of Music

Person's photo

Bernardi, Joanne

Associate Professor of Japanese and Film and Media Studies
Head of the Japanese Program
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
409 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture, especially popular culture; film and media studies; visual and material culture; moving image archiving and preservation; travel and tourism studies; nuclear culture; digital humanities; ephemera studies; object-based learning

Person's photo

Brown, Michelle Young

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
ayoung22@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7112
421 Lattimore Hall

C

Person's photo

Cho, Myounghee

Lecturer in Korean
myounghee.cho@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5382
539 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Language pedagogy; language acquisition; Korean linguistics; Korean linguistics; socio-pragmatics; curriculum design; development of learning and teaching methodologies and materials

Jennifer L. Creech

Creech, Jennifer L.

Associate Professor of German
jennifer.creech@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4273
428 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Post-1945 German studies; film studies; gender studies; cultural studies

D

Person's photo

Doran, Robert

Associate Professor of French and Comparative Literature
robert.doran@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
414 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century French literature and culture; the novel; continental philosophy; literary theory; aesthetics; intellectual history; European cinema; existentialism

F

Person's photo

Fumino, Shino

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
fumino.mclaughlin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9247
407A Lattimore Hall

G

Person's photo

Givens, Laura

Senior Lecturer in Russian
laura.givens@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4261
426 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Russian language; translation

Person's photo

Givens, John

Associate Professor of Russian
Chair of the Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
Head of the Russian Program
Head of the Comparative Literature Program

johngivens@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4253
408A Lattimore Hall

Interests: Russian language and literature; Russian film; translation

Susan Gustafson

Gustafson, Susan E.

Karl F. and Bertha A. Fuchs Professor of German Studies
Head of the German Program
susangustafson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
425 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: German literature of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries; feminism and gender studies; psychoanalysis

H

Person's photo

Hardy, Shizuka

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
shardy3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5382
539 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Holloway, David

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese
david.holloway@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
412 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Contemporary Japanese fiction; gender and sexuality; youth cultures and subcultures; transgression; Japan's "lost decade"

Person's photo

Huang, Ting

Senior Lecturer in Chinese
ting.huang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2456
404 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Qualitative research methods; sociocultural theory; new literacy studies; online learning; video learning; classical and modern Chinese texts; teaching Chinese as foreign language at all levels

Person's photo

Hwang, June J.

Associate Professor of German
june.hwang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
429 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century film; literature and critical theory

J

Beth Jörgensen

Jörgensen, Beth E.

Professor of Spanish
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4265
422 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century Spanish-American literature, with an emphasis on Mexico; women writers; theory and practice of literary nonfiction; Mexican chronicle; disability studies

K

Cilas Kemedjio

Kemedjio, Cilas

Professor of French
Head of the French Program
Director of the Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies

cilaskemedjio@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5346
311B Morey Hall

Interests: Francophone Caribbean and African literary and cultural studies; postcolonial theory; transnational black studies; humanitarianism

Person's photo

Komocki, Kirt

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
kkomocki@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5524
427 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Spanish theatre, particularly the works of Nicolás and Leandro Fernández de Moratín, and Ramón de la Cruz); nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century Spanish poetry

Person's photo

Korn, Andrew

Lecturer in Italian
andrew.korn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
411 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century Italian literature and film

M

Person's photo

Maslennikov, Nikita

Senior Lecturer in Russian
nmaslenn@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4176
424 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Maslennikova, Anna

Senior Lecturer in Russian
anna.maslennikova@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4261
426 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Murano, Teresa

Senior Lecturer in Italian
teresamurano@gmail.com | (585) 275-8208
432A Lattimore Hall

N

Person's photo

Nasra, Carole

Lecturer in French
cnasra@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
432 Lattimore Hall

P

Person's photo

Papaioannou, Julie

Senior Lecturer in French and Francophone Studies
julie.papaioannou@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5524
427 Lattimore Hall

Interests: French language and culture; French and Francophone literature and film (nineteenth and twentieth centuries); French critical, literary, and postcolonial theory

Person's photo

Parthé, Kathleen

Professor of Russian
Director of the Russian Studies Program
kathleen.parthe@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4176
424 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Intersection of literature, state power, and national identity; cognitive mapping and cultural history; pre-revolutionary Russian civil society; political essays, letters, and memoirs of Alexander Herzen (1812-1870)

Person's photo

Peck, Jason

Visiting Assistant Professor of German
jason.peck@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
411 Lattimore Hall

Interests: German-Jewish literature and philosophy from the eighteenth century to the present; the history of German aesthetics; poetics

Person's photo

Pian, Ping

Senior Lecturer in Chinese
ping.pian@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2456
404 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Prendergast, Ryan

Associate Professor of Spanish
ryan.prendergast@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4113
430 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Representations of identity and difference in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Spain and Spanish America

R

Person's photo

Rodríguez-Hernández, Raúl

Associate Professor of Spanish, Comparative Literature, and Film and Media Studies
Head of the Spanish Program
raul.rodriguez-hernandez@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4257
420 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth- and twenty-first-century Hispanic literatures and cultures; literary theory; Frankfurt School; European philosophical traditions in Latin America; Latin American cinema; the visual arts; the Baroque and Neo-Baroque; the Gothic tradition

Person's photo

Rojas-Rimachi, Luisa-Maria

Senior Lecturer in Spanish
l.rojas-rimachi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7112
421 Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Rosensweig, Anna

Assistant Professor of French
annarosensweig@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
426 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Early modern French literature and culture; theater and performance studies; political theory

S

Person's photo

Schaefer, Claudia

Rush Rhees Chair
Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
Professor of Film and Media Studies

claudia.schaefer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5569
418 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Nineteenth-, twentieth- and twenty-first-century Hispanic literatures and cultures; Spanish cinema; critical theory; popular culture; the visual arts; Spanish modernity; the culture of science in Spain; surrealism in Spain; digital humanities

Person's photo

Schaefer, William

Assistant Professor of Chinese
Head of the Chinese Program
william.schaefer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
407 Lattimore Hall

Interests: History and theory of photography in East Asia and the West; environmental humanities and ecological aesthetics; Chinese and Western philosophies of nature; Chinese visual culture and literature; image and art theory; Chinese and global modernisms

Person's photo

Spence, Yasuko

Adjunct Instructor in Japanese
yasuko_spence@msn.com

Person's photo

Stocchi-Perucchio, Donatella

Associate Professor of Italian
Head of the Italian Program
donatella.stocchi-perucchio@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5723
405 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Dante; nineteenth-century poetry and prose; fascism

T

Person's photo

Tamate, Mariko

Senior Lecturer in Japanese
mariko.tamate@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9247
407A Lattimore Hall

Person's photo

Tian, Guoming

Lecturer in Chinese
gtian2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8208
432A Lattimore Hall

V

Person's photo

Valdez, Maria Teresa

Language Coordinator for the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering
Head of the Portuguese Program
tvaldez@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5156
411 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Portuguese language instruction; foreign-language pedagogy; second- and foreign-language acquisition and development; heritage-language acquisition and development; teaching and learning methodologies for foreign, second, and heritage languages; second- and heritage-language learning materials; online language instruction

W

Person's photo

Weber, Elizabeth E.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese
@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
412 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Migration; race; labor; Asian American Studies; Asian American Studies, modern and late Qing Chinese literature; late Qing nationalism; late Qing history; international trade routes in the Age of Empire