Skip to main content

Undergraduate Program

Advisors

Program advisors for the Department of Modern Languages and Cultures (MLC) have the ability to advise students about majors, minors, transfer credit, and cluster exceptions within MLC. Advisors are also are authorized to sign off on forms to declare majors and minors, and to approve transfer credit toward a major or minor.

If you are looking to receive transfer credit for the first two years of study for a language, you need approval from an advisor of that language. All other transfer courses can be approved by anyone listed below or on the authorized signature list.

Undergraduate advisors are organized by the following areas:


Chinese

Elizabeth Weber
Lattimore 402
(585) 275-4251
e.e.weber@rochester.edu

Ping Pian
Lattimore 404
(585) 275-4251
ping.pian@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Comparative Literature

Robert Doran
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 414
(585) 275-4251
robert.doran@rochester.edu

Top ↑


French

Robert Doran
Program Head and Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 414
(585) 275-4251
robert.doran@rochester.edu

Top ↑


German

Susan Gustafson
Lattimore 425
(585) 275-4251
susangustafson@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Italian

Donatella Stocchi-Perucchio
Lattimore 405
(585) 275-4251
donatella.stocchi-perucchio@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Japanese

Joanne Bernardi
Undergraduate Advisor (A-M)
Lattimore 409
(585) 275-4251
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu

David Holloway
Undergraduate Advisor (N-Z)
Lattimore 412
(585) 275-4251
david.holloway@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Latin American Studies

Beth Jörgensen
Undergraduate Advisor
Lattimore 422
(585) 275-4265
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Portuguese

Teresa Valdez
Douglass 305E
(585) 275-5156,
tvaldez@ur.rochester.edu

Top ↑


Russian and Russian Studies

John Givens
Lattimore 408A
(585) 276-5856
johngivens@rochester.edu

Top ↑


Spanish

Raúl Rodríguez-Hernández
Program Head (clusters, study abroad credit for clusters, Take-Five, placement petitions)
Lattimore 420
(585) 275-4257
raul.rodriguez-hernandez@rochester.edu

Claudia Schaefer
Undergraduate Advisor 
Lattimore 418
(585) 275-5569
claudia.schaefer@rochester.edu

Kirt Komochi
Placement
Lattimore 427
(585) 275-4251
kkomocki@ur.rochester.edu

Top ↑


General Inquires

John Givens
Department Chair
Lattimore 408A
(585) 276-5856
johngivens@rochester.edu

Joanna Drexel
Department Manager
Lattimore 408
(585) 275-4253
joanna.drexel@rochester.edu

Top ↑