Skip to main content

People

Full Directory

 

A


Ablaeva, Julia

Lab Technician, Gorbunova
jablaeva@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Aiezza, Alex

Biocomputing Specialist
aaiezza@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3440
216 Hutchison

Aloi, Patricia

Undergraduate Course Coordinator
ppendzik@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-3685
488 Hutchison

Anderson, Joe

Senior Info Tech Operator
d.j.anderson.jr@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6066
340 Hutchison

Arcoraci, Marianne

UPBM Administrator
marianne.arcoraci@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3850
488 Hutchison

B


Bannister, Thomas T.

Professor Emeritus
tbannist@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8716
438 Hutchison

Bellomio, Philip

Lab Technician, Werren
pbellomi@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3889
309 Hutchison

Benyajati, Cheeptip

Associate Professor
Director for UPBM
cheeptip.benyajati@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8040
474 Hutchison

Interests: Regulation of gene expression during development of Drosophila; Transcription, chromatin structure, and mechanisms of developmental chromatin structure remodeling

Bergstralh, Daniel

Assistant Professor
dan.bergstralh@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2631
326B Hutchison
Website

Interests: Epithelial Morphogenesis; Spindle orientation; Cell Division

Bettinger, John

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
john.bettinger@rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

Bi, Xin

Professor
xin.bi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6922
307 Hutchison

Interests: Epigenetic regulation of eukaryotic gene expression; Structural and functional domains of the genome; Chromatin boundary elements; Gene silencing; DNA damage repair and tolerance

Bickel, Ryan

Research Associate
ryan.bickel@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7226
486 Hutchison

Bissell, Mary

Facilities Manager
mary.bissell@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8059
213 Hutchison

Brand, Cara

PhD Student
Advisor: Daven Presgraves
cara.brand@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2183
480 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The evolution and genetics of two meiotic processes: recombination and segregation distortion

Brisson, Jennifer

Assistant Professor
jennifer.brisson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8392
310 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Evolution of morphology; Molecular basis of phenotypic plasticity; Evolution and development in the pea aphid; The role of epigenetics in polyphenism

Brumfield, Kenny

Data Control Clerk
kbrumfi2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3886
213 Hutchison

C


Chang, Ching-Ho

PhD Student
Advisor: Amanda Larracuente
ching-ho.chang@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2475
337 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Population dynamics and molecular mechanism of the Segregation Distortion system in Drosophila melanogaster

Chen, Nancy

Assistant Professor
Coming July 2018!
nanchen@ucdavis.edu
Website

Interests: Population genetics with pedigrees; Contemporary evolution in natural populations; Evolutionary genetics; Conservation genomics; Avian genomics

Clark, Michael

Lecturer
michael.clark@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3432
444 Hutchison

Culver, Gloria

Professor
Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences
gloria.culver@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5000
317 Lattimore

Interests: Macromolecular assembly; RNA-protein recognition; Dynamics of RNA folding

D


Dao, Thao Kim

PhD Student
Advisor: Lambert
thaokimdao@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Dawney, Nicole

PhD Student
Advisor: Daniel Bergstralh
nicole.dawney@rochester.edu | (585) 276-6680
330 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

DeSantis, Samuel

Lab Technician, Seluanov
sdesanti@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Dolan, Amanda

Lab Technician, Werren
amanda.r.avery@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3889
309 Hutchison

E


Eickbush, Danna

Research Associate, Larracuente/Eickbush
danna.eickbush@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8362
328 Hutchison

Eickbush, Thomas H

Professor
thomas.eickbush@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7247
334A Hutchison

Interests: Molecular biology and evolution ; Integration of retrotransposable elements; Origin and evolution of mobile elements; Regulation of mRNA genes

Emmrich, Stephan

Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow, Gorbunova
stephan.emmrich@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

F


Fay, Justin

Associate Professor
justin.fay@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2998
319 Hutchison

Interests: Evolution of gene regulation; Comparative genomics and domestication; Disease consequences of human evolution

Fien, Kristin

Staff Accountant
kristin.fien@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3859
402F Hutchison

Firsanov, Denis

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Seluanov
dfirsano@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Fry, James D

Associate Professor
james.fry@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7835
318 Hutchison

Interests: Genetics of ecological adaptation in Drosophila; Evolutionary effects of deleterious mutations; Quantitative-genetic theory and methodology

Fu, Dragony

Assistant Professor
dragonyfu@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3346
333 Hutchison
Website

Interests: RNA modification and translation regulation; Genotoxic stress response pathways; Regulated cell death mechanisms

G


Ghaemmaghami, Sina

Assistant Professor
sghaemma@bio.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4829
326A Hutchison
Website

Interests: Protein folding and degradation; Neurodegenerative diseases and aging; Prion biology; Proteomics

Giardina, Kathy

Senior Accountant
kathy.giardina@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5416
402E Hutchison

Goldfarb, David S

Professor
david.goldfarb@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3890
436 Hutchison

Interests: Molecular cell biology of the nucleus

Gorbunova, Vera

Doris Johns Cherry Professor
Professor of Biology
Associate Professor of Oncology

vera.gorbunova@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7740
434 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Mechanisms of aging; Comparative biology of aging; Comparative biology of aging; DNA repair and genomic instability; Anticancer therapy

Gorovsky, Martin A

Rush Rhees Professor Emeritus
m.gorovsky@rochester.edu

Grantham, Mary

PhD Student
Advisor: Jennifer Brisson
mary.chaffee@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The role of chromatin remodeling and DNA methylation in developmental plasticity

Gu, Ningyang

PhD Student
Advisor: Steven Goldman
ningyanggu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9693
1-11311 KMRB Annex

Interests: TBD

Guo, Gongbo

Master's Student
g.guo@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

H


Hao, Stephanie

Lab Technician, Larracuente
stephanie.hao@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2475
337 Hutchison

Hattman, Stanley M

Professor Emeritus
moddna@mail.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8046
438 Hutchison

He, Junyue

Master's Student
junyuehe@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Hinkle, David C.

Professor Emeritus
david.hinkle@rochester.edu
315A Hutchison

Holz, Jonathan

Lecturer
jonathan.holz@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8973
477 Hutchison

Hutti, Chuck

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
charles.hutti@rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Using genome wide CRISPR screens to identify genes involved in prion tolerance and its mechanisms

J


Jaenike, John

Professor
john.jaenike@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0009
484 Hutchison

Interests: Ecology and evolution of host-parasite interactions; Sex chromosome meiotic drive; Wolbachia as male killers and causes of reproductive isolation in Drosophila; Ecology of mycophagous Drosophila

Jewell, Rachel

Lab Technician, Werren
redward2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3889
309 Hutchison

Johnson, Adam

PhD Student
Advisor: David Lambert
adamjohnson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7521
338 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Posterior growth and shell formation in Ilyanassa obsoleta

Johnson, Matthew

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
matthewjohnson@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Intracellular dynamics of histones during oogenesis and early development

Jones, Shaun

Lab Technician, Culver/Presgraves/Orr/Ghaemmaghami/Larracuente
shaun.jones@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2372
301/480/340/336/337 Hutchison

K


Ke, Zhonghe

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrei Seluanov
zhonghe.ke@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Stem cell biology of the naked mole rat and reversing age associated degeneration of stem cells

Keister, Jennifer

Lab Technician, Brisson
jennifernkeister@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison

Kelkar, Yogeshwar

Research Associate, Werren
yogeshwar.kelkar@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3889
309 Hutchison

Kelly, Kristin

Teaching Lab Manager
kristin.kelly@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9051
215 Hutchison

Keltz, Roxanne

Lab Technician, Culver
rkeltz@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2372
301 Hutchison

Khan, Adil

PhD Student
Advisor: Lei Xu
adilkhan@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4365
2-9858 KMRB

Interests: Signal transduction by GPR56 and its functions in melanoma progression

Khost, Emerson

PhD Student
Advisor: Amanda Larracuente
d.e.khost@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2475
337 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The organization and evolution of satellite DNA in Drosophila

Kilwein, Marcus

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
m.kilwein@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

Kovelakuntla, Vamsi

PhD Student
vkovelak@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

L


Lambert, J. David

Associate Professor
dlamber2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2482
344 Hutchison
Website

Interests: The evolution of developmental mechanisms; Early patterning in molluscs and related groups; Cytoskeletal basis of asymmetric cell divisions; Evolution of novel phenotypes

Landry, Cynthia

Graduate Coordinator
cynthia.landry@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7991
475 Hutchison

Larracuente, Amanda

Assistant Professor
alarracu@bio.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1693
343 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Evolutionary genetics and genomics; Intragenomic conflict and the evolution of selfish DNA; Evolutionary and functional genomics of satellite DNA; Sex chromosome and dot chromosome evolution in Drosophila

Lawrence, Deborah

Front Office Secretary
dlawren5@UR.Rochester.edu | (585) 273-1139
402B Hutchison

Lentini, Jenna

PhD Student
Advisor: Dragony Fu
jenna.lentini@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0348
331 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Identification of the damaged RNA transcriptome and surveillance pathways

Li, Binshuang

PhD Student
Advisor: Jennifer Brisson
binshuang.li@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Characterization of wing development locus aphicarus in pea aphid Acyrthosiphon pisum

Li, Xueying

Visiting Graduate Student, Fay
xueying.li@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3843
313 Hutchison

Longan, Emery

PhD Student
Advisor: Fay
elongan@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Luo, Jie

PhD Student
Advisor: Chawnshang Chang
jie.luo@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4500
1-6513 Medical Center

Interests: The role of neuroendocrine cells in the development of prostate cancer castration resistance and chemotherapy resistance

Lyon, Hiram

Technical Associate, Culver
hiram.lyon@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2372
301 Hutchison

M


Marin Aguilar, Fabiola

Visiting Graduate Student, Gorbunova
fmarinag@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Martinez, Jovany

Master's Student
jovany.martinez@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Millen, Jonathan

Visiting Scientist, Goldfarb
jonathan.millen@rochester.edu

Minckley, Robert L.

Senior Lecturer
Adjunct Assistant Professor
rminckle@mail.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0272
446 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Ecology and evolution of host breadth in bees; Community structure of desert bees; Conservation biology of pollinators

Muirhead, Christina

Technical Associate, Presgraves
cmuirhea@bio.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2183
480 Hutchison

N


Naganathan, Anusha

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Culver
anaganat@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2372
301 Hutchison

Napper, Nathan

Teaching Lab Assistant
nathan.napper@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9051
215 Hutchison

O


Oakes, Patrick W.

Assistant Professor
poakes@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5389
420 Bausch & Lomb Hall
Website

Interests: Mechanics of cellular force generation; Cell Shape; Cytoskeleton Dynamics; Mechanosensing; Cell adhesion & migration; Rho GTPase signaling

Olmsted, Joanna B.

Dean Emerita of the School of Arts and Sciences
joanna.olmsted@rochester.edu

Orr, H. Allen

University Professor
Shirley Cox Kearns Professor
allen.orr@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3838
342 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Genetics of speciation in Drosophila; Genetics and theory of adaptation; Population genetics

P


Parish, Kate

PhD Student
kparish@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Parker, Benjamin

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Brisson
benjamin.parker@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison

Phromsiri, Pakinee

PhD Student
pphromsi@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Portman, Douglas

Associate Professor
douglas.portman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7414
2-9647 KMRB
Website

Interests: Genetics of development and behavior in C. elegans; Neural cell fate specification; Sex differences in neural circuit function; Sexual dimorphism in developmental patterning

Presgraves, Danielle

Lecturer
danielle.presgraves@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2634
478 Hutchison

Presgraves, Daven C.

Dean's Professor
daven.presgraves@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0925
481 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Evolutionary genetics ; Speciation genetics; Molecular population genetics; Selfish gene complexes

Prevost, Christopher

Lab Technician, Fu
c.prevost@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0348
331 Hutchison

Putrelo, Julie

Lab Technician, Welte
jputrelo@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison

R


Ramos, Jillian

PhD Student
Advisor: Dragony Fu
jillian.ramos@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0348
331 Hutchison

Interests: Determining the cellular targets and function of human KIAA1456, a putative tRNA methyltransferase enzyme

Ren, Yue

PhD Student
Advisor: Thomas Mariani
yren12@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-4602
1-11301 KMRB Annex

Interests: The role of PCNA in silent chromatin

Rezazadeh, Sarallah

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrei Seluanov
s.rezazadeh@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison Hall

Interests: DNA repair in cancer and aging

Rojas Villa, Sebastian

PhD Student
Advisor: Benoit Biteau
sebastian.rojasvilla@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5827
2-9905 KMRB

Interests: Study of novel transcription factors and their role in Drosophila melanogaster intestinal stem cell tissue homeostasis

Rossow, Lisa

Purchasing Agent
lisa.rossow@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4147
402F Hutchison

Rybak, Brenna

Department Administrator
brenna.rybak@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8837
402D Hutchison

Rzatkiewicz, Thomas

Lab Technician, Presgraves
trzatkie@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2183
480 Hutchison

S


Saleh Ziabari, Omid

PhD Student
osalehzi@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Sellix, Michelle

Data Entry Clerk
michelle.sellix@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2823
402F Hutchison

Seluanov, Andrei

Professor
andrei.seluanov@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6636
432 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Molecular and cell biology; Tumor suppressor mechanisms in log-lived rodents the Naked Mole-Rat and Eastern Grey Squirrel; Mammalian Sirt proteins in regulation of stress response during aging; Anti-cancer mechanisms in whales

Shih, Ching-Hua

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Fay
cshih8@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3843
313 Hutchison

Sia, Elaine

Professor
elaine.sia@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9275
332 Hutchison

Interests: Molecular biology and genetics; Mutagenesis and repair of the mitochondrial genome of Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Siler, Jasmine

PhD Student
Advisor: Xin Bi
jasminesiler@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5917
304 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The role of Fun30 in cellular response to DNA repair

Simon, Matthew

Postdoctoral Fellow, Gorbunova
msimon12@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Smith, Brian

Postdoctoral Fellow, Culver
bsmith49@bio.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2372
301 Hutchison

Statt, Jeanne

Accountant / Bookkeeper
jeanne.statt@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3586
402F Hutchison

Stein, Alexis

Lecturer
alexis.stein@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3848
216B Hutchison

Steinert, Hannah

PhD Student
Advisor: Douglas Portman
hannah.steinert@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7915
2-9905 KMRB

Interests: Developmental timing of sex-specific maturation of the C. elegans nervous system

Stephenson, Roxan

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
roxan.stephenson@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The structure and function of the protein Jabba in Drosophila melanogaster embryos

Stout, Oliver

PhD Student
ostout2@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Sun, Hongying

PhD Student
Advisor: David Mathews
hongying.sun@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1748
3-8807 Medical Center

Interests: Nearest neighbor parameter derivation and RNA structure prediction

Sun, Yu

PhD Student
Advisor: Xin Li
yu.sun@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7450
3-8552 Medical Center

Interests: Define RNA regulation for next generation using both dry and wet approaches

Swovick, Kyle

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
kswovick@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Protein turnover and aging

T


Taguchi, Taketo

Research Associate, Gorbunova
ttaguchi@UR.Rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Takasugi, Masaki

Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow, Gorbunova
mtakasug@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5663
425 Hutchison

Tian, Xiao

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Gorbunova
xtian@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Tombline, Gregory

Research Associate, Seluanov/Gorbunova
gtomblin@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

V


Vinitsky, Hannah

Master's Student
hvinitsk@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

W


Walunjkar, Nilima

PhD Student
nwalunjk@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Wang, Jiawen

Master's Student
jiawenwang@rochester.edu

Interests: Master's Student

Wang, Wei

Master's Student
wei_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Weissman, Alyssa

Master's Student
a.weissman@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Welte, Michael

Professor and Chair
michael.welte@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3897
317 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Cell and developmental biology ; Intracellular trafficking of proteins, RNAs, and organelles ; Regulation of motor-driven transport ; Cell biology of lipid droplets ; Lipid droplets in protein sequestration and innate immunity

Werren, John H.

Nathaniel & Helen Wisch Professor of Biology
jack.werren@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3694
306 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Evolutionary genetics; Microbial-host interactions with emphasis on Wolbachia in arthropods, genetics of speciation and evolution of development; Genetics, genomics and evolution of Parasitoids (e.g. Nasonia and relatives); The role of "selfish" or "parasitic" DNA in evolution

Wilson, Tyler

Lab Technician, Bergstralh
twils27@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6680
330 Hutchison

Withey, Allyson

Undergraduate Secretary
allyson.withey@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5181
488 Hutchison

Wright , Lori

Technical Associate, Presgraves
lori_wright@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 276-2183
480 Hutchison

Wu, Longjun

PhD Student
Advisor: David Lambert
longjunwu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7521
338 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Exploring the genetic basis of Lophotrochozoan development

Y


Yan, Zhichao

Visiting Scientist, Werren
zyan8@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3889
309 Hutchison

Z


Zhang, Jingyuan

PhD Student
Advisor: Patricia White
jingyuan.zhang@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4112
6-7535 Medical Center

Interests: Role of ErbB2 pathway in mouse cochlear supporting cell proliferation and hair cell regeneration

Zhang, Kejia

PhD Student
kzhang27@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Zhang, Zhihui

PhD Student
zhihuizhang@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Zhao, Yang

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Gorbunova
yzhao64@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison