Skip to main content

People

Graduate Students

 


B


Bettinger, John

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
john.bettinger@rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

Brand, Cara

PhD Student
Advisor: Daven Presgraves
cara.brand@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2183
480 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The evolution and genetics of two meiotic processes: recombination and segregation distortion

C


Chang, Ching-Ho

PhD Student
Advisor: Amanda Larracuente
ching-ho.chang@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2475
337 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Population dynamics and molecular mechanism of the Segregation Distortion system in Drosophila melanogaster

D


Dao, Thao Kim

PhD Student
thaokimdao@rochester.edu

Interests: First Year Student

Dawney, Nicole

PhD Student
Advisor: Daniel Bergstralh
nicole.dawney@rochester.edu | (585) 276-6680
330 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

G


Grantham, Mary

PhD Student
Advisor: Jennifer Brisson
mary.chaffee@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The role of chromatin remodeling and DNA methylation in developmental plasticity

Gu, Ningyang

PhD Student
Advisor: Steven Goldman
ningyanggu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9693
1-11311 KMRB Annex

Interests: TBD

Guo, Gongbo

Master's Student
g.guo@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

H


He, Junyue

Master's Student
junyuehe@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Hutti, Chuck

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
charles.hutti@rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Using genome wide CRISPR screens to identify genes involved in prion tolerance and its mechanisms

J


Johnson, Adam

PhD Student
Advisor: David Lambert
adamjohnson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7521
338 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Posterior growth and shell formation in Ilyanassa obsoleta

Johnson, Matthew

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
matthewjohnson@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Intracellular dynamics of histones during oogenesis and early development

K


Ke, Zhonghe

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrei Seluanov
zhonghe.ke@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Stem cell biology of the naked mole rat and reversing age associated degeneration of stem cells

Khan, Adil

PhD Student
Advisor: Lei Xu
adilkhan@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4365
2-9858 KMRB

Interests: Signal transduction by GPR56 and its functions in melanoma progression

Khost, Emerson

PhD Student
Advisor: Amanda Larracuente
d.e.khost@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2475
337 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The organization and evolution of satellite DNA in Drosophila

Kilwein, Marcus

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
m.kilwein@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison

Interests: TBD

L


Lentini, Jenna

PhD Student
Advisor: Dragony Fu
jenna.lentini@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0348
331 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Identification of the damaged RNA transcriptome and surveillance pathways

Li, Binshuang

PhD Student
Advisor: Jennifer Brisson
binshuang.li@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8388
303 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Characterization of wing development locus aphicarus in pea aphid Acyrthosiphon pisum

Liu, Zhengshan

PhD Student
Advisor: Steven Goldman
zhengshanliu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9693
1-11311 MRBX

Interests: The pathogenesis of glial cells for schizophrenia

Luo, Jie

PhD Student
Advisor: Chawnshang Chang
jie.luo@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4500
1-6513 Medical Center

Interests: The role of neuroendocrine cells in the development of prostate cancer castration resistance and chemotherapy resistance

M


Marin Aguilar, Fabiola

Visiting Graduate Student, Gorbunova
fmarinag@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison

Martinez, Jovany

Master's Student
jovany.martinez@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

R


Ramos, Jillian

PhD Student
Advisor: Dragony Fu
jillian.ramos@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0348
331 Hutchison

Interests: Determining the cellular targets and function of human KIAA1456, a putative tRNA methyltransferase enzyme

Ren, Yue

PhD Student
Advisor: Thomas Mariani
yren12@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-4602
1-11301 KMRB Annex

Interests: The role of PCNA in silent chromatin

Rezazadeh, Sarallah

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrei Seluanov
s.rezazadeh@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6637
425 Hutchison Hall

Interests: DNA repair in cancer and aging

Rojas Villa, Sebastian

PhD Student
Advisor: Benoit Biteau
sebastian.rojasvilla@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5827
2-9905 KMRB

Interests: Study of novel transcription factors and their role in Drosophila melanogaster intestinal stem cell tissue homeostasis

S


Siler, Jasmine

PhD Student
Advisor: Xin Bi
jasminesiler@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5917
304 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The role of Fun30 in cellular response to DNA repair

Steinert, Hannah

PhD Student
Advisor: Douglas Portman
hannah.steinert@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7915
2-9905 KMRB

Interests: Developmental timing of sex-specific maturation of the C. elegans nervous system

Stephenson, Roxan

PhD Student
Advisor: Michael Welte
roxan.stephenson@rochester.edu | (585) 276-2440
311 Hutchison Hall

Interests: The structure and function of the protein Jabba in Drosophila melanogaster embryos

Sun, Hongying

PhD Student
Advisor: David Mathews
hongying.sun@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1748
3-8807 Medical Center

Interests: Nearest neighbor parameter derivation and RNA structure prediction

Sun, Yu

PhD Student
Advisor: Xin Li
yu.sun@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7450
3-8552 Medical Center

Interests: Define RNA regulation for next generation using both dry and wet approaches

Swovick, Kyle

PhD Student
Advisor: Sina Ghaemmaghami
kswovick@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-1237
336 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Protein turnover and aging

W


Wang, Jiawen

Master's Student
jiawenwang@rochester.edu

Interests: Master's Student

Weissman, Alyssa

Master's Student
a.weissman@rochester.edu

Interests: TBD

Wu, Longjun

PhD Student
Advisor: David Lambert
longjunwu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7521
338 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Exploring the genetic basis of Lophotrochozoan development

Z


Zhang, Jingyuan

PhD Student
Advisor: Patricia White
jingyuan.zhang@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4112
6-7535 Medical Center

Interests: Role of ErbB2 pathway in mouse cochlear supporting cell proliferation and hair cell regeneration