Department News

NSF Graduate Research Fellowships Awarded to Garrett Beals, Rachel Garwick, Alison Salamatian & Michael Taylor. Others Receive Honorable Mention.

March 24, 2021

(Left to Right): Garrett Beals. Rachel Garwick, Alison Salamatian, Mike Taylor
  • Garrett Beals an undergraduate working in the Franco Group, has been awarded a NSF Graduate Fellowship for his research in the field of Physics and Astronomy.  His senior research has been pushing the simulation of Petahertz electronics. We look forward to seeing what he will accomplish in grad school! 

  • Rachel Garwick, a first year graduate student in the Matson Lab, has been selected as an awardee for the NSF Graduate Fellowship Award based on her electrochemistry of vanadium oxides proposal. Rachel completed her undergraduate education at UC Santa Barbara where she obtained a degree in chemistry.

  • Alison Salamatian, is a second year graduate student in the Bren Group, was awarded a NSF Graduate Fellowship for her work on photochemical CO2 reduction using a synthetic enzyme.  Alison completed her undergraduate education at the University of Connecticut where she obtained a BS in chemistry.

  • Mike Taylor, one of our alumni that worked as an undergraduate in the Huo Group, has also been awarded a NSF Graduate Fellowship. He is now a first year graduate student in the Institute of Optics. Mike's undergraduate thesis work resulted in a published paper in Physical Review Letters: His GRPP is awarded by the "Chemistry - Chemical Theory, Models and Computational Methods” program, related to polariton chemistry and molecular quantum optics. 

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is the country’s oldest fellowship program that directly recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in various STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions. The five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000 to the institution. 

NSF Fellows are anticipated to become experts who can contribute significantly to research, teaching, and innovations in science and engineering. These individuals are crucial to maintaining and advancing the nation's technological infrastructure and national security as well as contributing to the economic well-being of society at large. The NSF accords Honorable Mention to meritorious applicants who do not receive Fellowship awards. This is considered a significant national academic achievement. 

The following students also received Honorable Mentions:

  • Amanda Canfield, a second year graduate student in the Paradine Group. Her research is focused on developing new catalytic strategies for palladium- and nickel-catalyzed heteroannulation reactions.
  • Sarah Craig, is an undergraduate student working in the Kennedy Group. She is currently choosing the graduate program where she will begin pursuing a Ph.D. in Chemistry this fall.
  • Justine Drappeau, is an undergraduate doing her senior research this year with the Frontier Group
2021 NSF Honorable Mentions
(Left to Right): Amanda Canfield, Sarah Craig, and Justine Drappeau

 Congratulations to all!


Related Links...