Department News

Kaelyn McFarlane-Connelly Selected as a 2021 Goldwater Scholar

March 30, 2021

mcfarlane-connelly_kaelyn.jpgCongratulations to Kaelyn McFarlane-Connelly on being awarded a 2021 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, one of the most prestigious national awards for undergraduates in the STEM fields. Kaelyn is a chemistry major in her junior year, and has been working in the Krauss lab studying semiconductor nanocrystals. She is one of 410 Goldwater Scholars selected from a pool of over 1,256 students that were nominated by faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.

"Kaelyn is quite unusual in that she has two research projects that she is working on, both of which involve the synthesis and characterization of colloidal semiconductor nanocrystal quantum dots. I am extremely impressed with how much Kaelyn has done to advance her projects with such a limited time in the laboratory. Kaelyn is developing into a first-rate, outstanding young scientist." 
          - Professor Todd Krauss

Authorized by Congress in 1986, the Goldwater Foundation’s central objective is to identify and support a significant pool of highly qualified undergraduates who are subsequently obtaining advanced degrees and going on to become this country’s leading scientists, engineers, and mathematicians. Goldwater Scholars have impressive academic and research credentials that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. Many of the Scholars have published their research in leading professional journals and have presented their work at professional society conferences.

Each Goldwater Scholar annually receives an amount equal to the cost of tuition, mandatory fees, books, and room and board minus the amount of support provided for by other sources, up to a maximum of $7,500.


Related Links...