Katherine/ Katie Gregory (she/her/they)

Position/What you do at U of R?Katie Gregory

I'm a 4th year PhD student. 

Where are you from?

Rochester, NY

What got you interested in Earth and Environmental Sciences?

My mom spent her early career in forestry in the national forests in VT and NH, and she instilled a love of nature in me at a young age. I always liked science in school and have felt passionately about preserving the environment, so this field was a clear fit.

What do you enjoy most about U of R?

The people. I've been a very active part of the UR community, mostly in a volunteering capacity or advocacy role to enact meaningful change. In the many opportunities I've had to meet new people I often walk away from those interactions feeling lucky to have engaged in that conversation or to have learned something from/about someone. The UR community is diverse and very smart. It's just really cool to be surrounded by that. 

What is your idea of a perfect day?

I wake up feeling rested. It's a beautiful, sunny, 73 degree day. I take the dog for a walk and grab a chai latte on the way to a park and the hiking trails are clear of foot traffic. Then maybe a movie date with my partner in a theater with big comfy seats, popcorn and a diet coke. That's a nice day. 

Do you have any hidden talents or hobbies?

In the last year my partner and I have started taking Latin Dance classes. I love to dance but this is my first experience with formal lessons, and it's been challenging but fun!