Fellowships and Awards

A variety of competitive, merit-based fellowships and scholarships enable our undergraduate students to focus on their research during the academic year and in the summer.

For more information see the Student Fellowships Office.

Grace McCormack Memorial Fund

The Grace McCormack Memorial Fund awards are presented to biology graduating students who have demonstrated excellence in science and teaching.

Donald R. Charles Memorial Fund

The Donald R. Charles Memorial Fund provides research support for graduate or undergraduate student(s) who show great potential in the field of biology. Special academic standing is not required.

de Kiewiet Summer Research Fellowships

The de Kiewiet Summer Research Fellowships are designed to give University of Rochester students in the BS and BA tracks in the Undergraduate Program in Biology and Medicine an opportunity to obtain substantial research experience in the laboratories of program faculty. The faculty in the program include all members of the following departments along with many faculty from other biomedical departments:

Students in their junior year are invited to submit competitive applications.

Howard Bryant Memorial Golf Tournament and Scholarship Fund

For over 40 years, Howard Bryant was a beloved member of the Department of Biology at the University of Rochester. After his sudden death in 2004, the Howard Bryant Memorial Scholarship Fund was established to honor his legacy of caring and support. To raise funds and honor his memory, the Howard Bryant Memorial Golf Tournament is held annually each June. All proceeds from the tournament benefit this Fund and will help to provide aid to students in need of financial assistance who are interested in pursuing a career in Science or Engineering.

The tournament sees department members join with members of our community for a fun-filled day of golf and camaraderie. Lunch and dinner are provided and attendees can participate in several silent auctions, showcasing a myriad of exciting prizes and cash raffles.

Two students are picked to receive the scholarship each year, beginning in their sophomore year for two years.