Skip to main content

News & Events

Seminars

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Department of Biology at (585) 273-1139 at least three days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.


Monday, March 18, 2019

Dr. Mark Hochstrasser, Yale University

"Molecular mechanisms of host reproductive manipulation by bacterial endosymbionts"

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Friday, March 22, 2019

Ching-Ho Chang, University of Rochester

"Balanced under the arms race: The war between selfish SD chromosomes and suppressors"

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, March 25, 2019

Dr. Scott Hawley, Stowers Institute

"Molecular biology of meiosis"

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

CANCELLED! - Dr. Parris Humphrey, Harvard University

"The dynamics, genetics, and ecology of fitness in multiple environments" 

Lander Auditorium-Hutchison 140
3:30 p.m.

Friday, March 29, 2019

Dr. Elizabeth McGraw, Pennsylvania State University

"Using evolutionary approaches to dissect the genetic basis of Wolbachia-mediated viral blocking in mosquitoes"

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 1, 2019

Dr. Robert Shmookler-Reis, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

“When good proteins turn bad: Understanding age- and pathology-associated aggregation”

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Friday, April 5, 2019

Dr. Quinn McFrederick, University of California, Riverside

“Leveraging microbes for bee conservation”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 8, 2019

Dr. Neal Silverman, University of Massachusetts Medical School

"Adventures in insect innate immunity"

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Adam Johnson, University of Rochester

“Axial elongation in a gastropod: the shell growth zones and the mesoteloblast lineage in Tritia

Computer Studies 209
Noon

PhD Thesis Defense


Friday, April 12, 2019

Xiaolu Wei, University of Rochester

"Satellite DNA Regulation in Drosophila melanogaster"

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 15, 2019

Dr. Jenny Tung, Duke University

"The evolutionary and molecular impact of social relationships in mammals"

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Monday, April 22, 2019

Dr. Patrick Murphy, URMC, Department of Biomedical Genetics

“The Role of H2A.Z in Epigenetic Inheritance and Developmental Enhancer Activation”

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Friday, April 26, 2019

Omid Saleh Ziabari, University of Rochester

"Parallel evolution of wings in aphids"

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 29, 2019

Dr. Danica Chen, University of California, Berkeley

"Mitochondrial metabolic checkpoint, stem cell aging and rejuvenation"

Hutchison Hall, Lander Auditorium
Noon

Friday, May 3, 2019

Nilima Walunjkar, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, May 6, 2019

Dr. David Matus, Stony Brook University

"Cell cycle regulation of differentiation and morphogenesis: Insights from worms and cancer"

Hutchison Hall, Room 473
Noon

Friday, May 10, 2019

Emery Longan, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Keynote speaker: Dr. Matt Kaeberlein, University of Washington

Aging Research Day

This all-day event will feature a variety of talks on aging research.

Goergen Hall, River Campus, Room 101
10 a.m.

                       


Friday, May 17, 2019

Dr. Molly Schumer, Harvard Medical School

"Natural selection on hybrid genomes: Insights from swordtail fish"

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.