Skip to main content

News & Events

Seminars

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Department of Biology at (585) 273-1139 at least three days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.


Friday, January 24, 2020

Dr. Laurence Packer, York University

“The biogeography of extreme bees in extreme environments”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Friday, February 7, 2020

Dr. Felix Beaudry, University of Toronto

“Patterns in sex chromosome evolution: Insights from plants”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Friday, February 14, 2020

Dr. Robert DeSalle, American Museum of Natural History

“What’s wrong with the base of the tree of metazoa?”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, February 17, 2020

Dr. Robert DeSalle, American Museum of Natural History

“The accidental homo sapiens”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Monday, February 24, 2020

Dr. Shawn Christensen, University of Texas at Arlington

"Completion of non-LTR-Retrotransposon integration involves an open ‘4-way’ branched DNA intermediate"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, February 28, 2020

Dr. Corrie Moreau, Cornell University

“Piecing together the puzzle to understand the evolution of the ants: Macroevolution to Microbiomes”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, March 2, 2020

Dr. Steve Horvath, UCLA

“Epigenetic clock studies in mammals” 

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, March 6, 2020

Dr. Emily Josephs, Michigan State University

“The evolutionary forces shaping quantitative trait variation in wild and domesticated plants”

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, March 9, 2020

Dr. Benjamin Blackman, University of California, Berkeley

“Trackers and guides: The genetics of natural variation in heliotropism and pollinator attraction”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, March 13, 2020

Xiaolu Wei, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, March 16, 2020

Dr. Karine Gibbs, Harvard University

“How bacteria can use a local sense of identity to shape community assembly and movement”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, March 20, 2020

Emery Longan, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Friday, March 27, 2020

Nilima Walunjkar, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, March 30, 2020

Dr. J. Robert Hogg, NIH

"Beyond sense and nonsense: The challenge of telling right from wrong in a complex transcriptome"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, April 3, 2020

Zoƫ De Corte, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 6, 2020

Dr. Ulrich Tepass, University of Toronto

“The rise and fall of the epithelial phenotype”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, April 10, 2020

Jeremy Summers, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 13, 2020

Dr. Nancy Moran, University of Texas at Austin

“Bacterial life inside insects”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, April 17, 2020

Rose Driscoll, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 20, 2020

Dr. David Queller, Washington University in St. Louis

“Evolutionary conflict and rapid evolution”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, April 24, 2020

Lauren Gregory, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, April 27, 2020

Dr. Andrew Gordus, Johns Hopkins University

“Untangling the web of behaviors produced by orb-weaving spiders”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon

Friday, May 1, 2020

Omid Saleh Ziabari, University of Rochester

TBA

Hutchison 316
3 p.m.

Monday, May 4, 2020

Dr. Hyun Youk, Delft University of Technology

“At the cusp of life and death”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140
Noon