Skip to main content

People

Full Directory

 

A


Tara Najd Ahmadi

Ahmadi, Tara Najd


tara.najdahmadi@gmail.com
Website

Interests: Modern and contemporary art with emphasis on Iran and Middle East; Independent and avant-garde cinema, film production; Art market, consumption, labor; Gender studies, feminism; Puppets

Hend Alawadhi

Alawadhi, Hend


h.alawadhi@rochester.edu

Interests: Critical race theory; (Documentary) film studies; Disability studies; Transnational feminism; Women’s health; Representations of illness and disability in Arab media; Archival memory; Popular culture and social activism

Joel Neville Anderson

Anderson, Joel Neville


jander35@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Experimental film and video; personal documentary; community media; film festival studies; Japanese cinema and visual culture

UR photo

Auclair, Clara


cauclair@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Early cinema/Early French cinema; Film archiving; Film history, theory, and aesthetics; Film and anthropology; Heritage, identity, and memory; Historiography; Museum and archival movements

B


Tiffany Barber

Barber, Tiffany


tbarber4@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Contemporary art with an emphasis on the expressions and theorizations of post/blackness and afrofuturism; politics of identity performance; theories of publics and public space; intersections between visual and literary practices; histories of exhibition and curatorial practices

Profile Photo

Berlo, Janet Catherine

Professor, Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
janetberlo@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4168
513 Morey Hall

Interests: Native American art and visual culture; The politics of representation; Museum studies and critique; Quilt, craft, and “folk art” ; History and historiography; Issues of materiality both old and new

Person's photo

Bernardi, Joanne

Professor of Japanese and Film and Media Studies
Head for the Japanese Program
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
409 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture, especially popular culture; film and media studies; visual and material culture; moving image archiving and preservation; travel and tourism studies; nuclear culture; digital humanities; ephemera studies; object-based learning

Profile Photo

Burges, Joel

Assistant Professor of English
joel.burges@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2694
413 Morey Hall

Interests: Post-1945 cultural studies; media studies; critical theory; American and contemporary literature

C


Mimi Cheng

Cheng, Mimi


mcheng10@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Spatial politics; Architecture and urbanism; Extraterritoriality; Institutional histories; Creative industries; Curatorial practice

Alicia Chester

Chester, Alicia


alicia.chester@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: photography history and theory; critical theory; temporality; modern and contemporary art; feminist history; queer theory

Peter Christensen

Christensen, Peter

Assistant Professor of Art History
peter.christensen@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7173
516 Morey Hall
Website

Interests: 19th and 20th century architectural history; Geopolitical theory and its impact on architecture; Historicism; History and aesthetics of infrastructure and industry; Critical digital humanities; Cartography and architecture

Jennifer L. Creech

Creech, Jennifer L.

Associate Professor of German
jennifer.creech@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4273
428 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Post-1945 German studies; film studies; gender studies; cultural studies

Photo credit: Dorothea Tuch

Crimp, Douglas

Fanny Knapp Allen Professor of Art History and Professor of Visual and Cultural Studies
douglas.crimp@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5622
518 Morey Hall

Interests: Contemporary art; criticism and theory; dance and dance film

D


UR photo

DeBoer, Kendall


kdeboer@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Representations of death and violence; gender and sexuality; erotic art; aesthetics of beauty and horror; early modern drama; performance; nature and artifice

UR photo

Dent, Jerome


jerome.dent@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Critical Theory; Critical Race Theory; Gender Studies and Queer Theory; Afrofuturism; Black Feminism; Film Studies; Pop Culture and Fan Culture

UR photo

DiGiulio, Lauren


ldigiul2@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Modern and Contemporary art; performance; phenomenology of language; concrete poetry; symbolism; interiority

Person's photo

Doran, Robert

Professor of French and Comparative Literature
Head for the French Program
Head for the Comparative Literature Program

robert.doran@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
414 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century French literature and culture; the novel; continental philosophy; literary theory; aesthetics; intellectual history; European cinema; existentialism

Profile Photo

Duro, Paul

Professor, Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
paul.duro@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9262
519 Morey Hall

Interests: theories of imitation; history painting; hierarchy of the genres; theories of the sublime; frame discourse and analysis; word and image studies; travel writing

E


Photo unavailable

Ely, Taryn


tely@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Experimental film and media; medical anthropology; histories of psychology; disability studies; critical theories of the self

UR photo

Escobar Lopez, Almudena


aescoba2@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: experimental film, video and time-based media production; cooperativism; film and media archival studies; politics of image making ; collecting, ready-mades and found footage ; digital humanities; materiality in the digital age; curatorial practice; critical theory; gender studies and feminism

F


UR photo

Fong, Byron


bfong3@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Games Studies; Film Theory; Digital Humanities; Animation

Profile Photo

Foster, Robert

Professor and Chair of Anthropology/Professor of Visual and Cultural Studies; Research Associate, Buffalo Museum of Science; Adjunct Professor, College of Asian and Pacific Studies, School of Culture, History and Language, Australian National University
robert.foster@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8741
445 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: social theory; political economy; nationalism; globalization; consumption; commodity chains; mass media; ritual; Papua New Guinea; Melanesia; Oceania

Eitan Freedenberg

Freedenberg, Eitan


freedenberg@me.com

Interests: critical geography; vernacular architecture; heritage production; postmodern tourisms; open-air museums; precursors to virtual reality

G


Victoria Gao

Gao, Victoria


victoria.gao@rochester.edu

Interests: Twentieth century American and French street photography; naturalism and realism in narrative film; issues of privacy and candidness; urban spectatorship; intersections between film and photography

Kenneth Gross

Gross, Kenneth

Alan F. Hilfiker Distinguished Professor of English
kenneth.gross@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4098
404B Morey Hall

Interests: Shakespeare; lyric poetry; Renaissance literature; romance

Jingtao (Harry) Gu

Gu, Jiangtao (Harry)


jiangtao.gu@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Chinese visual culture; Transnational history of photography; European imperialism, colonial modernity; Historiography, temporal and spatial politics; Identity-formation, state-formation; Liberal arts pedagogy, digital humanities

Susan Gustafson

Gustafson, Susan E.

Karl F. and Bertha A. Fuchs Professor of German Studies
Head for the German Program
susangustafson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
425 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: German literature of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries; feminism and gender studies; psychoanalysis

H


Profile Photo

Haidu, Rachel

Associate Professor, Art History
Director for Graduate Program in Visual and Cultural Studies
rachel.haidu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4112
520 Morey Hall

Interests: Modern, postwar and contemporary art; Eastern European postwar and contemporary art; artist's films and videos; contemporary painting; history of photography; national identity and transnationalism; critical theory and poststructuralist theory; feminism, gender and race studies; visual studies

Person's photo

Hwang, June J.

Associate Professor of German
june.hwang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
429 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century film; literature and critical theory

J


UR photo

Ju, Amanda


xju@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Representations of war, trauma and memory; Feminist Theory and Psychoanalysis; language and images; Time, temporality and technology; Political Ecology

L


Profile Photo

Lewis, Jacob W.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Art History
Associate Academic Director for Photographic Preservation and Collections Management Program
jacobwlewis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4285
522 Morey Hall

Interests: History of photography; Nineteenth-century French art; Critical theory of technology; History of the printed image; Twentieth-century American art

Lihong Liu

Liu, Lihong

Assistant Professor of Art History
l.liu@rochester.edu | (585 ) 275-4169
523 Morey Hall

Interests: Chinese art; Critical theories; Landscape and environment; Art, science, and technology; Material culture; Transcultural studies

Bette London

London, Bette

Professor
bette.london@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3510
304 Morey Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century British literature; Victorian literature and culture; feminist theory; women's writing; authorship studies

Kelly Long

Long, Kelly


kellylong11@gmail.com

Interests: Contemporary art and critical theory; identity politics; space and memory; dialectical utopianism; artist books

M


Alex Marr

Marr, Alexander Brier


amarr2@mail.rochester.edu

Interests: Native North American art; American modernisms; history of anthropology

UR photo

Menzies, Tristan


tignasme@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: History of Photography; Japanese Photography and Modernism; Marxism

John Michael

Michael, John

Professor, English/Visual and Cultural Studies
john.michael@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4974
404D Morey Hall
Website

Interests: 19th- and 20th-century American literature; critical theory, and cultural studies; problematics of national identities in American literature and culture; contemporary relations between academic intellectuals and democratic politics; the complex interrelations between the reading of literature; the demands of ethics, and the problems of historical knowledge

Jason Middleton

Middleton, Jason

Associate Professor, English
Director for Program in Film and Media Studies
jason.middleton@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9372
511 Morey Hall
Website

Interests: film theory; critical theory; documentary and experimental film/media; affect and embodiment ; horror

UR photo

Murphy, Peter


peter.murphy@rochester.edu

Interests: Modern and Contemporary Painting; Queer theory; Psychoanalysis

N


UR photo

Nasirov, Yasin


ynasirov@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Film philosophy; essay film; Russo-Soviet cinema; Apparatus Theory; Kubrick

Photo unavailable

Nykolak, Jenevive


jnykolak@gmail.com

Interests: postwar European and American art; France in the 1970s; abstraction and abstract painting; materiality; the historiography of modernism and the avant-garde

O


John Osburg

Osburg, John

Associate Professor
john.osburg@rochester.edu | (585) 273-3329
436 Lattimore Hall

Interests: China; Capitalism; Postsocialism; Gender; Political corruption and organized crime; Buddhist revival in China

P


Christopher Patrello

Patrello, Christopher


bragi86@gmail.com

Interests: Native American art history; material culture and materiality; consumption; museum studies

UR photo

Prince, Alisa


aprince5@rochester.edu

Interests: History of Photography; Identity Politics; Studio (Photography, Printmaking); Race and Representation; Critical Race Theory

R


Daniel Reichman

Reichman, Daniel

Associate Professor
Chair of Anthropology
daniel.reichman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8737
439 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Globalization and trade; migration and transnationalism; food, development, and environment; coffee industry; Latin America; Honduras, Brazil

Person's photo

Rosensweig, Anna

Assistant Professor of French
annarosensweig@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2367
426 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Early modern French literature and culture; theater and performance studies; political theory

S


Profile Photo

Saab, A. Joan

Associate Professor, Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
Chair for Department of Art and Art History
joan.saab@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7922
506 Morey Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century American cultural history; media and culture; urban and community studies; popular culture; cultural studies; aesthetic categories and values

Timothy Scheie

Scheie, Timothy

Associate Professor for Humanities Department, Eastman School of Music
tscheie@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1612
ET 413 26 Gibbs Street
Website

Llerena Searle

Searle, Llerena G.

Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies for Anthropology
Llerena.searle@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8740
443 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Urbanization; infrastructure; capitalism and global finance; value; speculation; material culture; media and consumer cultures; South Asia

Reinhild Steingrover

Steingröver, Reinhild

Associate Professor for Eastman School of Music
rsteingrover@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1616
ET 402 26 Gibbs St.
Website

UR photo

Stuber, Tracy


tracy.stuber@rochester.edu

Interests: modern and contemporary art; critical theory; media theory; historiography; photography between the artistic and the vernacular; haptics and phenomenology; rocks

Photo unavailable

Sullivan, Patrick


psulli10@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Film philosophy; globalization; cinematic representation of space and time; Thai cinema; early cinema; film sound

T


Jeffrey Tucker

Tucker, Jeffrey Allen

Associate Professor of English
jeffrey.tucker@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2064
418 Morey Hall

Interests: African-American literature; 20th-century American literature; science fiction

Julia Tulke

Tulke, Julia


jtulke@UR.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Street art and graffiti as political practice; Urban space, Right to the City, Politics of everyday life in the city; Social movements and protest; Performative and visual activism; Economic crisis and austerity; Affect theory ; Visual ethnography; Photography as research method; Critical cartography and mapping

U


UR photo

Ullrich, Madeline


mullrich@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Media theory; Cultural techniques; Dress and identity; Representations of war and violence; Gender studies; Film theory

W


Sharon Willis

Willis, Sharon

Professor, Art and Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
sharon.willis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5757
517 Morey Hall

Interests: Film history and theory; visual and cultural studies; women's studies and feminist theory; comparative literature and critical theory; French cinema; 19th and 20th century French literature

Stephanie Alana Wolf

Wolf, S. Alana


stephanie.alana.wolf@gmail.com

Interests: Modern and Contemporary art; Data auralization, sonification, and sound studies; Architecture and urbanization; Representations of space and sound; Public art; Memory and materiality; Media theory and digital humanities

Y


Yepes Munoz

Yepes Munoz, Ruben


ryepezmu@z.rochester.edu

Interests: contemporary Colombian and Latin American political art; representations of the Colombian armed conflict in visual culture; theories of art and politics; affect theory; art as event