Skip to main content

People

Graduate Students

2017


UR photo

DeBoer, Kendall


kdeboer@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Representations of death and violence; gender and sexuality; erotic art; aesthetics of beauty and horror; early modern drama; performance; nature and artifice

Photo unavailable

Ely, Taryn


tely@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Experimental film and media; medical anthropology; histories of psychology; disability studies; critical theories of the self

UR photo

Nasirov, Yasin


ynasirov@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Film philosophy; essay film; Russo-Soviet cinema; Apparatus Theory; Kubrick

UR photo

Ullrich, Madeline


mullrich@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Media theory; Cultural techniques; Dress and identity; Representations of war and violence; Gender studies; Film theory

Back to top

2016


UR photo

Fong, Byron


bfong3@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Games Studies; Film Theory; Digital Humanities; Animation

UR photo

Ju, Amanda


xju@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Representations of war, trauma and memory; Feminist Theory and Psychoanalysis; language and images; Time, temporality and technology; Political Ecology

UR photo

Menzies, Tristan


tignasme@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: History of Photography; Japanese Photography and Modernism; Marxism

UR photo

Prince, Alisa


aprince5@rochester.edu

Interests: History of Photography; Identity Politics; Studio (Photography, Printmaking); Race and Representation; Critical Race Theory

Back to top

2015


UR photo

Auclair, Clara


cauclair@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Early cinema/Early French cinema; Film archiving; Film history, theory, and aesthetics; Film and anthropology; Heritage, identity, and memory; Historiography; Museum and archival movements

Mimi Cheng

Cheng, Mimi


mcheng10@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Spatial politics; Architecture and urbanism; Extraterritoriality; Institutional histories; Creative industries; Curatorial practice

UR photo

Murphy, Peter


peter.murphy@rochester.edu

Interests: Modern and Contemporary Painting; Queer theory; Psychoanalysis

Julia Tulke

Tulke, Julia


jtulke@UR.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Street art and graffiti as political practice; Urban space, Right to the City, Politics of everyday life in the city; Social movements and protest; Performative and visual activism; Economic crisis and austerity; Affect theory ; Visual ethnography; Photography as research method; Critical cartography and mapping

Back to top

2014


UR photo

Dent, Jerome


jerome.dent@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Critical Theory; Critical Race Theory; Gender Studies and Queer Theory; Afrofuturism; Black Feminism; Film Studies; Pop Culture and Fan Culture

UR photo

Escobar Lopez, Almudena


aescoba2@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Experimental film, video and time-based media production; Cooperativism and collectivism; Community media; Film and media archival studies; Politics of image making ; Curatorial studies; Gender studies and feminism

Back to top

2013


Alicia Chester

Chester, Alicia


alicia.chester@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: photography history and theory; critical theory; temporality; modern and contemporary art; feminist history; queer theory

UR photo

DiGiulio, Lauren


ldigiul2@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Modern and Contemporary art; performance; phenomenology of language; concrete poetry; symbolism; interiority

Jingtao (Harry) Gu

Gu, Jiangtao (Harry)


jiangtao.gu@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Chinese visual culture; Transnational history of photography; European imperialism, colonial modernity; Historiography, temporal and spatial politics; Identity-formation, state-formation; Liberal arts pedagogy, digital humanities

Photo unavailable

Sullivan, Patrick


psulli10@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Film philosophy; globalization; cinematic representation of space and time; Thai cinema; early cinema; film sound

Back to top

2012


Tara Najd Ahmadi

Ahmadi, Tara Najd


tara.najdahmadi@gmail.com
Website

Interests: Modern and contemporary art with emphasis on Iran and Middle East; Independent and avant-garde cinema, film production; Art market, consumption, labor; Gender studies, feminism; Puppets

Joel Neville Anderson

Anderson, Joel Neville


jander35@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Experimental film and video; personal documentary; community media; film festival studies; Japanese cinema and visual culture

Eitan Freedenberg

Freedenberg, Eitan


freedenberg@me.com

Interests: critical geography; vernacular architecture; heritage production; postmodern tourisms; open-air museums; precursors to virtual reality

Victoria Gao

Gao, Victoria


victoria.gao@rochester.edu

Interests: Twentieth century American and French street photography; naturalism and realism in narrative film; issues of privacy and candidness; urban spectatorship; intersections between film and photography

UR photo

Stuber, Tracy


tracy.stuber@rochester.edu

Interests: modern and contemporary art; critical theory; media theory; historiography; photography between the artistic and the vernacular; haptics and phenomenology; rocks

Stephanie Alana Wolf

Wolf, S. Alana


stephanie.alana.wolf@gmail.com

Interests: Modern and Contemporary art; Data auralization, sonification, and sound studies; Architecture and urbanization; Representations of space and sound; Public art; Memory and materiality; Media theory and digital humanities

Back to top

2011


Hend Alawadhi

Alawadhi, Hend


h.alawadhi@rochester.edu

Interests: Critical race theory; (Documentary) film studies; Disability studies; Transnational feminism; Women’s health; Representations of illness and disability in Arab media; Archival memory; Popular culture and social activism

Tiffany Barber

Barber, Tiffany


tbarber4@z.rochester.edu

Interests: Contemporary art with an emphasis on the expressions and theorizations of post/blackness and afrofuturism; politics of identity performance; theories of publics and public space; intersections between visual and literary practices; histories of exhibition and curatorial practices

Kelly Long

Long, Kelly


kellylong11@gmail.com

Interests: Contemporary art and critical theory; identity politics; space and memory; dialectical utopianism; artist books

Christopher Patrello

Patrello, Christopher


bragi86@gmail.com

Interests: Native American art history; material culture and materiality; consumption; museum studies

Back to top

2010


Photo unavailable

Nykolak, Jenevive


jnykolak@gmail.com

Interests: postwar European and American art; France in the 1970s; abstraction and abstract painting; materiality; the historiography of modernism and the avant-garde

Back to top

2009


Alex Marr

Marr, Alexander Brier


amarr2@mail.rochester.edu

Interests: Native North American art; American modernisms; history of anthropology

Back to top