People

Faculty

 

B

Jonathan Baldo

Baldo, Jonathan

Professor of English, Department of Humanities, Eastman School of Music
jbaldo@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1610
606 Eastman Theater

Interests: Shakespeare; early modern cultural studies; literary theory

Melissa Balmain

Balmain, Melissa

Adjunct Instructor
melissa.balmain@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2160
419 Morey Hall

Professor of English David Bleich

Bleich, David

Professor
david.bleich@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8568
409 Morey Hall

Interests: Literary and language theory; writing and language pedagogy; women's studies; science studies; Jewish studies; film and popular culture

Profile Photo

Burges, Joel

Assistant Professor of English
joel.burges@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2694
413 Morey Hall

Interests: Post-1945 cultural studies; media studies; critical theory; American and contemporary literature

C

Photo unavailable

Carli, Philip

Adjunct Instructor
Philip_Carli@pittsford.monroe.edu | (585) 275-4104
404a Morey Hall

E

Morris Eaves

Eaves, Morris

Professor of English and Richard L. Turner Professor of Humanities
Director, A. W. Mellon Graduate Program in the Digital Humanities of the School of Arts & Sciences
morris.eaves@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9025
301 Morey Hall

Interests: British Romanticism; Media history and theory; Editorial theory; William Blake Archive Project

F

Brady Fletcher

Fletcher, Brady

Instructor
Director of Forensics of Debate Union
brady.fletcher@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3873
1.208a Dewey

G

Kenneth Gross

Gross, Kenneth

Alan F. Hilfiker Distinguished Professor of English
kenneth.gross@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4098
404B Morey Hall

Interests: Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; theater; English poetry; literature and the visual arts

Jennifer Grotz

Grotz, Jennifer

Professor
jennifer.grotz@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4092
406 Morey Hall

Interests: Poetry; creative writing; translation

H

Thomas Hahn

Hahn, Thomas

Professor
thomas.hahn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5664
402A Morey Hall

Interests: Medieval literature and culture; popular culture

Gregory Heyworth

Heyworth, Gregory

Associate Professor of English and Textual Science; Director, Lazarus Project
gheywort@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2548
408 Morey Hall

Sarah Higley

Higley, Sarah L

Professor
sarah.higley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9261
411 Morey Hall

Interests: Medieval vernacular languages and literature of Northern Europe; film and media studies; fiction

K

Rosemary Kegl

Kegl, Rosemary

Associate Professor
Chair of the Department of English
rosemary.kegl@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4092
423A Morey Hall

Interests: Shakespeare and English Renaissance drama; early modern literature and culture; literary theory; gender studies

L

Bette London

London, Bette

Professor
bette.london@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3510
304 Morey Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century British literature; Victorian literature and culture; feminist theory; women's writing; authorship studies

James Longenbach

Longenbach, James

Joseph Henry Gilmore Professor of English
james.longenbach@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4587
401A Morey Hall

Interests: Modernism; poetry; creative writing

M

Nigel Maister

Maister, Nigel

Senior Lecturer
Artistic Director of the International Theatre Program
nigel.maister@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5159
210 Todd Union

Interests: New music; multimedia performance

Katherine Mannheimer

Mannheimer, Katherine

Associate Professor of English
Director of Graduate Studies
katherine.mannheimer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9257
417 Morey Hall

Interests: Restoration; Eighteenth-century literature

James Memmott

Memmott, James

Adjunct Assistant Professor of English
jim.memmott@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2160
419 Morey Hall

Interests: Journalism

John Michael

Michael, John

Professor of English and Visual and Cultural Studies
john.michael@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4974
405 Morey Hall

Interests: American literature; critical theory; cultural studies

Jason Middleton

Middleton, Jason

Associate Professor
Director of Film and Media Studies Program
jason.middleton@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9372
511 Morey Hall

Interests: Film and media studies; critical theory; cultural studies

William Miller

Miller, William

Assistant Professor
william.miller@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2574
410 Morey Hall

Interests: 17th century literature; 18th century literature; literature and religion; literature and philosophy

R

Supritha Rajan

Rajan, Supritha

Associate Professor of English
supritharajan@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9263
415 Morey Hall

Interests: Nineteenth-century British literature; critical theory; creative writing (poetry)

Gordon Rice

Rice, Gordon

Senior Lecturer
Production Manager of the International Theatre Program
g.rice@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9006
205 Todd Union

Interests: Technical direction; production management

UR photo

Rozenski, Steven

Assistant Professor
srozensk@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7325
416 Morey

Interests: Middle English devotional literature; translation studies; book history; medieval German and Dutch literature; trans-Reformation England

S

Stephen Schottenfeld

Schottenfeld, Stephen

Associate Professor of English
s.schottenfeld@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6477
414 Morey Hall

Interests: Modern and contemporary literature; fiction writing; playwriting; screenwriting

Joanna Scott

Scott, Joanna

Roswell Smith Burrows Professor of English
joanna.scott@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2784
404C Morey Hall

Interests: Modern and contemporary fiction; the art of imaginative writing

Curt Smith

Smith, Curt

Senior Lecturer in English
curtsmith@netacc.net | (585) 275-4260
320 Morey Hall

Interests: Presidential rhetoric; American presidents of the radio/television age; Public speaking; Sports broadcasting, with emphasis on baseball, football, basketball, and hockey

T

Ezra Tawil

Tawil, Ezra

Associate Professor of English
Director of Undergraduate Studies
ezra.tawil@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5050
412 Morey Hall

Interests: American literature to 1900; rise of the novel; the literary history of race; American sentimentalism; transatlantic theories of the aesthetic

Jeffrey Tucker

Tucker, Jeffrey Allen

Associate Professor of English
jeffrey.tucker@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2064
418 Morey Hall

Interests: African-American literature; 20th-century American literature; science fiction