Skip to main content

People

Graduate Students

 

A


Photo unavailable

Al Zuwayed, Zahra

MA Program
zalzuway@ur.rochester.edu

B


UR photo

Beljanski, Tanja

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, BA, University of Cologne; MA, University of Rochester
beljanst@gmail.com

UR photo

Brengle, Abigail

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Rochester; BA, Michigan State University
abigail.brengle@rochester.edu

Interests: Twentieth-century British and American literature, Modernism, poetry and poetics

Photo unavailable

Briant, Katherine

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: Fordham University, MA; University of Rochester, BA
kbriant@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Manuscript studies, late medieval literature, embodiment, gender

UR photo

Byng, Gyasi

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Florida Atlantic University; BA, Palm Beach Atlantic University
gbyng@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Slave and Neoslave Narratives; Artificial and Posthuman Life Forms in Science Fiction; Construction of Mixed Race Identity in Literary Texts; Critical Race Theory

C


Photo unavailable

Castleberry, Kristi

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, MA, Sonoma State University
kristi.castleberry@gmail.com

Interests: Medieval Literature; Cultural Studies and Gender Studies

UR photo

Cho, Seung

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Rochester ; BA, Soongsil University
scho31@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Early Modern Literature; Shakespeare and Renaissance Poetry; Negative Capability and Theology; Tragedy and Philosophy

Photo unavailable

Conklin, Ashley

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Boston College; BA, University of Connecticut
aconkli2@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Medieval literature; Violence in romance and hagiography; Monstrosity; Marginalized figures

Photo unavailable

Crakes, Andrew

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Southern Connecticut State University; BA, Boston University
acrakes@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: American modernist poetry; Affect theory and psychoanalysis; Digital humanities; Poetry and Cinema

Photo unavailable

Crawford, Rachel

MA Program
rachel.crawford.fisher@gmail.com

D


UR photo

Davies, Helen

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, BA, Loyola University Chicago; MA, University of York, UK
hrdavies5@gmail.com

Interests: Anglo-Saxon literature, Maps, Digital Humanities, and Multi-Spectral Imaging

UR photo

Delcourt, Steffi

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Rochester; BA, Emory University
sdelcour@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature, Middle English Romances, the Arthurian Tradition, Identity, Spatial Theory

F


UR photo

Francisco, Erin

MA Program
efranci8@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Frederick, Bradley

MA Program
bfreder3@ur.rochester.edu

G


UR photo

Gasbarre, Jessica

MA Program
Prior Degrees: BA, St John Fisher College
jgasbarre@mag.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Grenert, Alison

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of Pittsburgh; MA, University of Rochester
agrenert@msn.com

Interests: Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century American Literature; Film and Media Studies; Genre Studies; Literature and Language Theory

H


Photo unavailable

Harper, Alison

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Chicago; MA, University of York; BA, St Hilda's College, Oxford University
aharper5@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Fifteenth-century popular literature; Medieval household miscellanies; Afterlife of texts, focus on fanfiction and other forms of textual adaptation

Photo unavailable

Heck, Julianne

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Colby College; MA, Simmons College
juliannem4@yahoo.com

Interests: Early Twentieth-Century American Literature

I


UR photo

Ingles, Jarrod

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Asbury University
jingles@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Romantic and Victorian Literature; Politics and Poetry; Aesthetics

J


UR photo

Jaime, Shannon

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Whittier College; MA, University of Rochester
sjaime@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: British Romantic and Victorian Literature; Women Writers; Poetry and Poetics; Lyric and Genre Theory

K


Photo unavailable

Kingsley, Joey

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MFA, Virginia Commonwealth University; BA, College of the Holy Cross
jkingsl3@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: 19th-century British Poetry and Literature; Victorian Studies; Romantic Poetry; 19th-century Society and Culture; 18th-century British Poetry; 20th-century Irish Literature; Gender and Sexuality; Female Narrative Theory; 20th- and 21st-century Poetry and Poetics; 20th-century American Poetry

UR photo

Knopf, Nicholas J

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Nazareth College; MA, Saint Bonaventure University
knopfnj@gmail.com

Interests: Mark Twain; Theory of the Novel; Eighteenth-Century English Novel; Medical and Scientific Prose; Travel

Profile Picture

Kohlhase, Emily

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of Wisconsin - Madison
emilykohlhase@rochester.edu

Interests: English Renaissance drama, focus on Shakespeare; Early Modern and Contemporary theatrical practices; Adaptation

Photo unavailable

Kraines, Daniel

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, NY University; MFA, Boston University; BA, Skidmore College
dkraines@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: 20th Century and Contemporary Literature; Modernism, Poetry and Poetics

Photo unavailable

Kurano, B. Lindsey

Selznick Program
bkurano@ur.rochester.edu

L


UR photo

Lamperez, Joseph

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, MA, Loyola University of Chicago
josephlamperez@gmail.com

Interests: The Hermetic Tradition; Fin de Siecle Literature and Art; Magical Realism; Surrealism; Obscurity; the Politics and Poetics of Space; Romanticism; the Baroque; Ecocriticism; Postcolonial Theology

Photo unavailable

Lane, Sam

Selznick Program
slane11@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Lang, Amanda

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, St. John Fisher College; MA, University of Rochester
amandaelang1@gmail.com

Interests: Early Modern Literature; Shakespeare and English Renaissance Drama; Gender Studies

Photo unavailable

Lloyd, Hilarie

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Duke University; JD, Cornell Law School
fireflymoon22@yahoo.com

Interests: Feminist Theory and Jurisprudence; Progressive Literary Movements; Politics and Language; Critical Race Theory; Women Writers; Anglo-Irish Literature

Photo unavailable

Lowman, Emily

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, College of William and Mary
elowman@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Medieval literature, Celtic literature, Arthurian tradition, Old English literature, folklore; temporal theory, spatial theory; critical race theory

 http://ericloy.me

Loy, Eric

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Creighton University; BA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
eric.christian.loy@gmail.com

Interests: Documentary Editing; Editorial Theory; Digital Humanities; Twentieth-Century American Literature; Narrative Theory

M


Profile Photo

Marra, Abbey

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: University of Bristol, MA; Southern Nazarene University, BA
Abbey.Marra@rochester.edu

Interests: Film and Television History, Critical Race Theory, Gender Studies, Comedy, Stardom and Celebrity

Photo unavailable

McCain, Carson

MA Program
cmccain@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

McDonald, Matthew

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Vanderbilt University
mmcdon16@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century American and British Poetry; an Aesthetics of Fate and Power; Literature of the American Civil War; the Figure of the Poet as Doomed Youth

Photo unavailable

McDowell, Zachary

Selznick Program
zmcdowel@ur.rochester.edu

UR photo

Menchetti, Cecilia

MA Program
cmenchet@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Mercuri, Gina

MA Program
gmercuri@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Morrice, Santiago

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Mills College; BA, University of California-Merced
omorrice@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: African American Literature and Critical Theory

N


Photo unavailable

Nelson, Daniel

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, New York University; MA, SUNY at Buffalo
dnels15@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Poetry, Especially Ninteenth-Century British and Twentieth-Century American; British Romanticism

UR photo

Nikolis, Anastasia

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Haverford College
anikolis@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Modern and contemporary literature; Poetry and poetics; Word and image

Profile Photo

Nourani, Sherwin

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, MS, BA, University of Texas, Dallas
snourani@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Shakespeare; World Epics; Relationships between Music, Language and Poetry; Neuroaesthetics; Space-Time, Chance and Nothingness; Gender Studies; Digital Humanities

O


Profile Photo

O'Neil, Scott

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Towson University; MA, Saint Bonaventure University
soneil4@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Early Modern; Shakespeare; Renaissance Pedagogy

P


Photo unavailable

Pierce, Jesse

Selznick Program
jpier16@ur.rochester.edu

UR photo

Powell, Zachary M

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Kansas State University; BS, University of Kansas
zpowell@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Film and Media Studies (Silent Film, War Film, Horror Film, Experimental Film) Cultural Studies, Modernism, and Contemporary Literature

Photo unavailable

Pratt, Katie

Selznick Program
kpratt6@ur.rochester.edu

UR photo

Preston, Shelby

MA Program
spresto2@ur.rochester.edu

R


Photo unavailable

Ramsey, JoAnna

Selznick Program
jrams10@ur.rochester.edu

UR photo

Rich, Robert

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of Oregon
rrich@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, History of Economic Thought, Early Science Fiction

S


Photo unavailable

Sadaniantz, Nicole

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of Pennsylvania
nsadania@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: 20th Century dramatic literature and acting theory; Modernism; Chekhov, Woolf, Kerouac, Brodsky & Utkin

UR photo

Sengupta, Oishani

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Jadavpur University, Kolkata; BA, Jadavpur University, Kolkata
osengupt@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Victorian visual culture; illustrated novels; digital humanities; translation studies

UR photo

Shukla, Abhishek

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, St. Stephen's College, Delhi; MA, University College Dublin
abhishek.shukla@rochester.edu

Interests: Nineteenth-Century American Literature; Anglo-Irish and Indian Literary Revivals

Photo unavailable

Simon, Miles

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, California State University-Northridge; BA, California State University-Northridge
msimon11@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Transatlantic Romanticism; Liminal spaces; Negative capability and theology; History of the daemon; Genre studies; Hybrid texts

Photo unavailable

Simon, Connor

Selznick Program
csimon4@ur.rochester.edu

UR photo

Singleton, Daniel

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Rochester; BA, Kennesaw State University
daniel.singleton@rochester.edu

Interests: Film history; Twentieth-century American Literature; Cinematic authorship; Adaptation

UR photo

Skwiat, Matthew

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, University of Rochester ; MA, Drew University; BA, Kean University
mskwiat@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Rise of the Novel, Victorian Literature and Transatlantic Gothic Fiction

Photo unavailable

Soules, Katherine

MA Program
ksoules3@ur.rochester.edu

T


Photo unavailable

Tindell, Megan

MA Program
mtindell@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Tosh, Nathan

MA Program
n.tosh@rochester.edu

V


Photo unavailable

Vandenbossche, Lisa

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of Michigan; MA, Clemson University
lisa.vandenbossche@rochester.edu

Interests: Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century British and American Literature; Atlantic Studies; Law and Literature; Feminist and Gender Studies

W


Photo unavailable

Warner-Gonzales, Avalon

MA Program
awarnerg@ur.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Whitebell, Laura

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of York, UK; MA, University of Sheffield, UK; MA, University of Rochester
laura.whitebell@rochester.edu

Interests: British and American Nineteenth-Century Literature and Culture; Digital Humanities

Y


Photo unavailable

Yee, Pamela

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, University of California, Berkeley
pyee@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature; Arthurian Tradition; Celtic Mythology; Folklore and Fairy Tale; Historical Linguistics; Gender Studies

Z


UR photo

Zaloom, Rose

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: BA, Utica College
rzaloom@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Early Modern/Renaissance British Literature, Dramatic Literature, Representations and Dynamics of Violence, Theatrical Staging, Audience Experience, Prose and Poetic Narrative

Photo unavailable

Zaman, Nasheed

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Kansas State University; BA, North South University, Bangladesh
nasheedzaman@gmail.com

Interests: Twentieth-century American Literature; African-American Literature; Literary theory

Photo unavailable

Zawacki, Alexander

PhD Program
Prior Degrees: MA, Bangor University, Wales; BS, Susquehanna University
azawacki@ur.rochester.edu