News Archive

Undergraduate Chemistry Awards

May 10, 2016

Undergraduate award winners

Several chemistry majors have been awarded Chemistry Awards and will be recognized at this year’s Chemistry Diploma Ceremony, on May 15, 2016.

The Dr. E.W. & Maude V. Flagg Award is being awarded to Matt Carbone. This award recognizes outstanding performance and promise in chemistry by a graduating senior. The recipient is selected by a faculty committee appointed by the Chair of the Department of Chemistry.

The 2016 John McCreary Memorial Prize is being awarded to Rachel Kasimer. The John McCreary Memorial Fund was established in 1985 in tribute to the high academic and scientific standards and the personal dedication of John James McCreary.

The American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards are given to selected students based on outstanding academic record and academic achievement in specific fields of chemistry. 
The ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award is being awarded to Fulei Peng for his outstanding academic achievement in inorganic chemistry. 
The ACS Organic Chemistry Award is being awarded to Christine Ziegler for her outstanding academic achievement in organic chemistry. 
The ACS Rochester Award is being awarded to Sarah Pristash, and she will be recognized during the ACS Annual Rochester Section Undergraduate Research Symposium.

The Carl A. Whiteman Jr. Teaching Award recognizes exemplary teaching by an undergraduate student in the Department of Chemistry. Carl Whiteman graduated from the University of Rochester in 1950 and worked continuously in the Department until his retirement in 1986. This award recognizes his teaching experience, as well as that of the recipients. This year, this award is being awarded to Dylan Gaeta, Sarah Pristash, and Porter Ladley. Matthew Carbone received this award in 2015, his Junior year, and will also be recognized at this year’s Chemistry Diploma Ceremony.

The 2016 Chemistry Department Awards are being given to Dylan Gaeta, Porter Ladley, and Chris Melnychuk. The Chemistry Department Award is given to seniors in recognition of outstanding scholarship in the study of chemistry.

Congratulations to all!

Related Links...