News Archive

Pat Holland wins Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists

June 21, 2013

The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists competition has announced the results of their 2013 regional competition, naming Professor Pat Holland, Synthetic Bioinorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, one of five faculty winners. These exceptional scientists, along with two postdoctoral fellows and five finalists, were selected from a pool of more than 160 nominations across 35 scientific disciplines, submitted by 43 research institutions in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

The Blavatnik Awards celebrate innovative and impactful researchers age 42 or younger working in the life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, and engineering. The winners in Faculty positions conduct research in the fields of Computer Science, Condensed Matter Physics, Inorganic Chemistry, Chemical Biology, and Astrophysics. Faculty winners receive $50,000 and postdoctoral winners receive $30,000. All prizes are awarded as unrestricted funds, and are made possible by the generosity of the Blavatnik Family Foundation.

This year marks the seventh anniversary of the Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists competition. “We have been so impressed by the quality of applicants throughout the years. Their talent and ground-breaking work is a personal achievement and attests to the strong institutional foundation distinctive to the region. On behalf of the Blavatnik Family Foundation, I congratulate this year’s extraordinary young scientists, and look forward to following their future accomplishments,” says Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chairman of Access Industries, head of the Blavatnik Family Foundation, and an Academy Board Governor.

Congratulations Pat on this prestigious achievement! We also want to wish him well as he moves to Yale University within the next few weeks.