Skip to main content

Graduate Program

Recent PhD Recipients

The department prides itself on its conscientious and aggressive efforts to place its PhDs in suitable academic employment. The department has done remarkably well in this regard. Our PhDs graduates now teach at several institutes, including the following:

  • University of Arkansas
  • Bard College
  • UCLA
  • Canisius College
  • Clarkson University
  • Colgate University
  • Columbia University
  • Concordia College
  • Hamilton College
  • Harvard University
  • Louisiana State University
  • SUNY Buffalo
  • SUNY Oswego
  • CUNY Lehmann College
  • Northeastern University
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Oklahoma (Norman)
  • Rhodes College
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • St. Lawrence University
  • Xavier University
  • Villanova University

A number of Rochester PhDs are pursuing careers in related professions. They have found employment at such diverse organizations as the New York State Archives, Library of Congress, and Newsday.

Recent Recipients



A


Photo unavailable

Arbogast, Amy Lynn

PhD 2016
Advisor: Joan Shelley Rubin
Amy.Negley@yahoo.com

Photo unavailable

Avitable, Joseph R.

PhD 2009
Advisor: Joseph Inikori

B


Photo unavailable

Bakhmetyeva, Tatyana

PhD 2006
Advisor: Dorinda Outram

Photo unavailable

Bharadwaj, Vasudha

PhD 2011
Advisor: Stewart Weaver

Photo unavailable

Broc, Loren A.

PhD 2013
Advisor: Joan Shelley Rubin
brmn@mail.rochester.edu

Michael J. Brown

Brown, Michael J.

PhD 2014
Advisor: Robert Westbrook
m.brown@rochester.edu

C


Photo unavailable

Casey, Kathleen B.

PhD 2009
Advisor: Victoria Wolcott

Photo unavailable

Claussen, Samuel

PhD 2016
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper
samclaussen@gmail.com

D


Photo unavailable

Dingman, Paul E.

PhD 2012
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper
pdingman7@gmail.com

Photo unavailable

Dougherty, Sara M.

PhD 2012
Advisor: Robert Westbrook
smhdougherty@yahoo.com

F


Photo unavailable

Finn, Michelle R.

Track: PhD Spring 2012
Advisor: Victoria Wolcott
mfinn2@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Fisher, Michael C.

PhD 2016
Advisor: Joan Shelley Rubin
mcfisher184@gmail.com

Photo unavailable

Flowe, Douglas James

PhD 2014
Advisor: Joan Shelley Rubin

Daniel P. Franke

Franke, Daniel P.

PhD Candidate, ABD
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper
danielfranke79@gmail.com

G


Photo unavailable

Goodwin, Julia

PhD 2007
Advisor: Celia Applegate

Mitchell D. Gruber

Gruber, Mitchell D.

PhD 2017
Advisor: Thomas Slaughter
mdgruber@gmail.com

Photo unavailable

Guyol, Christopher R.

PhD 2013
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper
cguyol@yahoo.com

K


Photo unavailable

Kadercan, Pelin

Track: PhD 2012
Advisor: Celia Applegate
pkaderca@mail.rochester.edu

L


Photo unavailable

Learned, Jay D.

Track: PhD 2012
Advisor: Joan Rubin; Matthew Lenoe
jlearned@mail.rochester.edu

Jeffrey R. Ludwig

Ludwig, Jeffrey R.

PhD 2015
Advisor: Robert Westbrook
jeffrey.ludwig@rochester.edu

M


Photo unavailable

McCarthy, Tara

PhD 2006
Advisor: Lynn Gordon

Photo unavailable

Morry, Emily C.

PhD 2012
Advisor: Victoria Wolcott
emorry@mail.rochester.edu

N


Photo unavailable

Nakashian, Craig M.

PhD 2009
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper

P


Photo unavailable

Parsons, Gregory S.

PhD 2007
Advisor: Celia Applegate

Photo unavailable

Paternaude, Monique D.

Track: PhD 2012
Advisor: Larry Hudson
mpatenau@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Pekarek, Joseph

MA Thesis
Advisor: Theodore Brown
jpekarek@z.rochester.edu

R


Photo unavailable

Robins, Jonathan E.

PhD 2010
Advisor: Stewart Weaver, Stanley Engerman

S


Photo unavailable

Sanders, Gabrielle S.

PhD 2007
Advisor: Linda Levy Peck

Photo unavailable

Satta, Ronald F.

PhD 2007
Advisor: Robert Westbrook

Photo unavailable

Saucier, Jamie C.

PhD 2012
Advisor: Robert Westbrook
jsaucie3@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Saucier, Jeremy K.

PhD 2010
Advisor: Robert Westbrook

Photo unavailable

Sposato, Peter

PhD 2014
Advisor: Richard Kaeuper

Photo unavailable

Summers, John

PhD 2006
Advisor: Robert Westbrook

Photo unavailable

Sutherland, Serenity

PhD 2017
Advisor: Thomas Slaughter
serenitys37@gmail.com
Website

T


Photo unavailable

Thurman, Kira

PhD 2013
Advisor: Celia Applegate
kirathurman@rochester.edu