Graduate Program

Recent PhD Recipients

The department prides itself on its conscientious and aggressive efforts to place its PhDs in suitable academic employment. The department has done remarkably well in this regard. Our PhDs graduates now teach at several institutes, including the following:

A number of Rochester PhDs are pursuing careers in related professions. They have found employment at such diverse organizations as the New York State Archives, Library of Congress, and Newsday.

Recent Recipients

A

Photo unavailable

Arbogast, Amy Lynn

PhD 2016
Adviser: Joan Shelley Rubin
Amy.Negley@yahoo.com

Photo unavailable

Avitable, Joseph R.

PhD 2009
Adviser: Joseph Inikori

B

Photo unavailable

Bakhmetyeva, Tatyana

PhD 2006
Adviser: Dorinda Outram

Photo unavailable

Bharadwaj, Vasudha

PhD 2011
Adviser: Stewart Weaver

Photo unavailable

Broc, Loren A.

PhD 2013
Adviser: Joan Shelley Rubin
brmn@mail.rochester.edu

Michael J. Brown

Brown, Michael J.

PhD 2014
Adviser: Robert Westbrook
m.brown@rochester.edu

C

Photo unavailable

Casey, Kathleen B.

PhD 2009
Adviser: Victoria Wolcott

Photo unavailable

Claussen, Samuel

PhD 2016
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper
samclaussen@gmail.com

D

Photo unavailable

Dingman, Paul E.

PhD 2012
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper
pdingman7@gmail.com

Photo unavailable

Dougherty, Sara M.

PhD 2012
Adviser: Robert Westbrook
smhdougherty@yahoo.com

F

Photo unavailable

Finn, Michelle R.

Track: PhD Spring 2012
Adviser: Victoria Wolcott
mfinn2@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Fisher, Michael C.

PhD 2016
Adviser: Joan Shelley Rubin
mcfisher184@gmail.com

Photo unavailable

Flowe, Douglas James

PhD 2014
Adviser: Joan Shelley Rubin

Daniel P. Franke

Franke, Daniel P.

PhD Candidate, ABD
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper
danielfranke79@gmail.com

G

Photo unavailable

Goodwin, Julia

PhD 2007
Adviser: Celia Applegate

Photo unavailable

Guyol, Christopher R.

PhD 2013
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper
cguyol@yahoo.com

K

Photo unavailable

Kadercan, Pelin

Track: PhD 2012
Adviser: Celia Applegate
pkaderca@mail.rochester.edu

L

Photo unavailable

Learned, Jay D.

Track: PhD 2012
Adviser: Joan Rubin; Matthew Lenoe
jlearned@mail.rochester.edu

M

Photo unavailable

McCarthy, Tara

PhD 2006
Adviser: Lynn Gordon

Photo unavailable

Morry, Emily C.

PhD 2012
Adviser: Victoria Wolcott
emorry@mail.rochester.edu

N

Photo unavailable

Nakashian, Craig M.

PhD 2009
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper

P

Photo unavailable

Parsons, Gregory S.

PhD 2007
Adviser: Celia Applegate

Photo unavailable

Paternaude, Monique D.

Track: PhD 2012
Adviser: Larry Hudson
mpatenau@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Pekarek, Joseph

MA Thesis
Adviser: Theodore Brown
jpekarek@z.rochester.edu

R

Photo unavailable

Robins, Jonathan E.

PhD 2010
Adviser: Stewart Weaver, Stanley Engerman

S

Photo unavailable

Sanders, Gabrielle S.

PhD 2007
Adviser: Linda Levy Peck

Photo unavailable

Satta, Ronald F.

PhD 2007
Adviser: Robert Westbrook

Photo unavailable

Saucier, Jamie C.

PhD 2012
Adviser: Robert Westbrook
jsaucie3@mail.rochester.edu

Photo unavailable

Saucier, Jeremy K.

PhD 2010
Adviser: Robert Westbrook

Photo unavailable

Sposato, Peter

PhD 2014
Adviser: Richard Kaeuper

Photo unavailable

Summers, John

PhD 2006
Adviser: Robert Westbrook

T

Photo unavailable

Thurman, Kira

PhD 2013
Adviser: Celia Applegate
kirathurman@rochester.edu