Skip to main content

People

Faculty

 

B


Profile Photo

Ball, Molly

Lecturer
mollycball@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7184
449 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Modern Brazil; Economic History

Profile Photo

Beaumont, Daniel

Associate Professor
daniel.beaumont@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5224
436 Rush Rhees Library
Website

Interests: Contemporary American Culture; Arabic Literature

Profile Photo

Borus, Daniel H.

Professor
daniel.borus@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9356
452 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: US Cultural and Intellectual History

Profile Photo

Brown, Theodore M.

Professor of History
Professor of Medical Humanities
Charles E. & Dale L. Phelps Professor of Public Health and Policy

theodore_brown@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2051
368 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Intellectual; Institutional; Political History of Medicine

D


Profile Photo

Devaney, Thomas C.

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
thomas.devaney@rochester.edu | (585) 276-6861
452 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Late Medieval and Early Modern Europe; Urban History; Interfaith Relations

F


Profile Photo

Fleischman, Thomas

Assistant Professor
thomas.fleischman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1140
449 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: German History

G


Profile Photo

Gamm, Gerald

Professor of Political Science and History
gerald.gamm@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8573
319 Harkness Hall
Website

Interests: Political Science; American History

H


Profile Photo

Ho, Dahpon

Assistant Professor of History
dho2@mail.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7869
459 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: East Asian History

Photo unavailable

Hudson, Larry E.

Associate Professor of History
larry.hudson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4557
460 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: African-American History; Comparative Slavery; Civil War and Reconstruction; New South; Theory and Methods of Oral History

I


Profile Photo

Inikori, Joseph E.

Professor of History
Professor of African and African-American Studies

inik@mail.rochester.edu
437 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Atlantic World Economic History

J


Profile Photo

Jarvis, Michael J.

Associate Professor of History
Director of Digital Media Studies Program; Director of Smiths Island Archaeology Project
michael.jarvis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4558
455 Rush Rhees Library
Website

Interests: Early American Social and Economic History; Atlantic World Networks; Bermuda and the Caribbean; Maritime Labor and Culture

K


Profile Photo

Kaeuper, Richard W.

Professor of History
richard.kaeuper@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7878
441 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Medieval Britain and Continental Europe

L


Profile Photo

Lenoe, Matthew E.

Associate Professor of History
Department Chair
matthew.lenoe@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9355
370 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Russian and Soviet History; Stalinist Culture and Politics; History of Mass Media; Soviet Soldiers in World War II; Russia in East Asia; Leninism in World History

M


Photo unavailable

Mandala, Elias C.

Professor of History
elias.mandala@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2058
439 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Southern Africa since the 19th Century; Social History

O


Profile Photo

Outram, Dorinda

Gladys I. and Franklin W. Clark Professor of History
dorinda.outram@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4097
369A Rush Rhees Library

Interests: History of the Enlightenment

P


Profile Photo

Pedersen, Jean

Associate Professor of History
Associate Professor of Humanities, Eastman School of Music

jpedersen@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3616
447 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Modern European History; French History; Feminist Theory, Women's History, and Gender Studies; Philosophy of Science; Sociology of Knowledge; History of Academic Disciplines

Profile Photo

Pierce, Morris

Adjunct Professor
m.pierce@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4331
364 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Military History; Science and Technology

R


Profile Photo

Rubin, Joan S.

Dexter Perkins Professor in History
joan.rubin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9347
365 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century American Cultural and Intellectual History; The History of the Book

S


Profile Photo

Sierra Silva, Pablo M.

Assistant Professor
pablo.sierra@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8354
458 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: African Diaspora in Latin America; Colonial Latin America; Afro-Indigenous Interactions; Urban Slavery

Profile Photo

Slaughter, Thomas P.

Arthur R. Miller Professor and Professor of History
Editor, Reviews in American History
thomas.slaughter@rochester.edu | (585) 273-2799
369B Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Europe and the Americas, c.1500-1900; Early America; American Revolution; Abolition; Humans and Nature; Families

Profile Photo

Smoller, Laura

Professor
laura.smoller@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7721
457 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Medieval and Renaissance Europe; Medieval Christianity; Early Science and Medicine; History of Astrology and Prophecy

T


Profile Photo

Theobald, Brianna

Assistant Professor
brianna.theobald@rochester.edu
454 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Womens' History; Native American History; History of Medicine

W


Profile Photo

Weaver, Stewart A.

Professor of History
stewart.weaver@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9348
461 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Modern British History; Himalayan History; Environmental History

Profile Photo

Westbrook, Robert B.

Joseph F. Cunningham Professor of History
robert.westbrook@rochester.edu
440 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Modern American History

Y


Photo unavailable

Young, Mary

Professor Emeritus of History
yngm@mail.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2054
454 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: American History in the Early National and Jacksonian Periods; American Indians

Z


Profile Photo

Zhang, Elya

Assistant Professor of History
elya.zhang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9358
418 Rush Rhees Library
Website

Interests: Asian History