Earth & Environmental Sciences

People

Faculty

 
Karen Berger

Berger, Karen

Lecturer
Coordinator-College Sustainability Studies, Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator
karen.berger@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7611
202 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Teaching Interests: Human use of and impacts on energy and water resources

Placeholder Image

Borrelli, Chiara

Lecturer, Research Associate
cborrelli@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7884
202 Hutchison Hall

Rory D. Cottrell

Cottrell, Rory D.

Adjunct Instructor
rory.cottrell@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6025
209C Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Paleomagnetism and paleointensity

Cynthia Ebinger

Ebinger, Cynthia

Professor of Earth and Environmental Science
cynthia.ebinger@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3364
206 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Geodesy, seismology, structural geology, and geodynamics as applied to active and ancient plate boundary deformation, and thermo-mechanical properties of the crust and upper mantle on Earth and terrestrial planets.

Udo Fehn

Fehn, Udo

Professor Emeritus
udo.fehn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7884
224 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Primary research focus is the movement of fluids in the earth's crust, with an emphasis on dating and tracing studies.

Carmala Garzione

Garzione, Carmala

Professor
Chair of Earth & Environmental Sciences
carmala.garzione@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3042
227 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Stable Isotopes in Terrestrial Paleoenvironmental Studies; Interaction between Climate and Tectonics; Sedimentary Basin Evolution and Related Tectonic History of Mountain Belts; Geochemical and Petrologic Provenance Studies of Siliciclastic Sedimentary Rocks

Penny Higgins

Higgins, Penny

Research Associate
pennilyn.higgins@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0601
209B Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Climate change since the Last Glacial Maximum in North America; Terrestrial climate change during the Paleocene Eocene Thermal Maximum in the Western Interior of North America; Climate change and faunal turnover at the boundary between the Torrejonian and Tiffanian North American Land Mammal "Ages"; Tooth growth rates and mineralization patterns in Notoungulate mammals

Ibanez-Mejia

Ibanez-Mejia, Mauricio

Assistant Professor
Arriving July 2016
ibanezm@mit.edu | (617) 253-2927
University of Rochester

Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry; geochronology; tectonics of mountain belts and lithospheric evolution; large-scale sedimentary provenance; large igneous province magmatism; chronology and tectonics of terrane transfer and supercontinent accretion

John Kessler

Kessler, John

Associate Professor
john.kessler@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4572
210 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Chemical Oceanography; Isotope geochemistry; Analytical chemistry

Lawrence Lundgren

Lundgren, Lawrence L.

Professor Emeritus
lwlundgren@gmail.com
Website

Interests: Renewable energy systems in Europe-American applications; Environmental medicine

Gautam Mitra

Mitra, Gautam

Professor
Graduate Studies Director
gautam.mitra@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5816
208A Hutchison Hall

Interests: Tectonic evolution of mountain belts; Finite strain and strain history analysis; Deformation mechanisms in rocks

Profile Image

Murray, Lee

Assistant Professor
N/A

Vasilii Petrenko

Petrenko, Vasilii

Assistant Professor
Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator/Wilmot Assistant Professor
vpetrenk@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6094
228 Hutchinson Hall
Website

Interests: Understanding natural and anthropogenic climate and environmental change, particularly from the perspective of atmospheric composition and chemistry.

Robert Poreda

Poreda, Robert J.

Professor
robert.poreda@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0051
224 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Professor Poreda's research focuses on novel applications of noble gas chemistry to the earth sciences, in seven diverse areas.

John A. Tarduno

Tarduno, John A.

Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs in Geosciences
john.tarduno@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5713
227 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Paleomagnetism, Geomagnetism and Geodynamics, including rates of plate tectonic, hotspot and polar motion, mantle plume volcanism, long-term history of Earth's magnetic field (paleointensity, paleosecular variation and reversal frequency), origin of the geodynamo, magnetic shielding and planetary habitability, decay of the modern dipole magnetic field and archeomagnetism; Cretaceous climate; environmental magnetism.

Dustin Trail

Trail, Dustin

Assistant Professor
dustin.trail@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7182

Interests: Experimental geochemistry; early Earth - including understanding the origin(s) of the oldest terrestrial rocks and minerals; planetary geology; astrobiology; lunar geochemistry; "water" in nominally anhydrous minerals; isotope geochemistry and geochronology of accessory minerals; redox chemistry of magmas, fluids, and minerals - including the application of synchrotron-based techniques

Profile Image

Weber, Thomas

Assistant Professor
N/A