People

Faculty

 

B

Karen Berger

Berger, Karen

Lecturer
Coordinator-College Sustainability Studies, Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator
karen.berger@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7611
202 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Teaching Interests: Human use of and impacts on energy and water resources

Chiara Borrelli

Borrelli, Chiara

Lecturer, Research Associate
cborrelli@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7884
202 Hutchison Hall

Interests: paleoceanography; paleoclimate; foraminifera; stable isotopes; trace elements; methane seeps; biogeochemical cycles; molecular biology

C

Rory D. Cottrell

Cottrell, Rory D.

Research Assistant
rory.cottrell@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6025
209C Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Paleomagnetism and paleointensity

E

Cynthia Ebinger

Ebinger, Cynthia

Professor of Earth and Environmental Science
cynthia.ebinger@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3364
206 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Geodesy, seismology, structural geology, and geodynamics as applied to active and ancient plate boundary deformation, and thermo-mechanical properties of the crust and upper mantle on Earth and terrestrial planets.

F

Udo Fehn

Fehn, Udo

Professor Emeritus
udo.fehn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7884
224 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Primary research focus is the movement of fluids in the earth's crust, with an emphasis on dating and tracing studies.

G

Carmala Garzione

Garzione, Carmala

Professor
Professor of Earth & Environmental Sciences
carmala.garzione@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3042
227 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Stable Isotopes in Terrestrial Paleoenvironmental Studies; Interaction between Climate and Tectonics; Sedimentary Basin Evolution and Related Tectonic History of Mountain Belts; Geochemical and Petrologic Provenance Studies of Siliciclastic Sedimentary Rocks

H

Penny Higgins

Higgins, Penny

Research Associate
pennilyn.higgins@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0601
209B Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Climate change since the Last Glacial Maximum in North America; Terrestrial climate change during the Paleocene Eocene Thermal Maximum in the Western Interior of North America; Climate change and faunal turnover at the boundary between the Torrejonian and Tiffanian North American Land Mammal "Ages"; Tooth growth rates and mineralization patterns in Notoungulate mammals

I

Ibanez-Mejia

Ibanez-Mejia, Mauricio

Assistant Professor
ibanezm@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2108
B-13 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry; geochronology; tectonics of mountain belts and lithospheric evolution; large-scale sedimentary provenance; large igneous province magmatism; chronology and tectonics of terrane transfer and supercontinent accretion

K

John Kessler

Kessler, John

Associate Professor
john.kessler@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4572
210 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Chemical Oceanography; Isotope geochemistry; Analytical chemistry

L

Lawrence Lundgren

Lundgren, Lawrence L.

Professor Emeritus
lwlundgren@gmail.com
Website

Interests: Renewable energy systems in Europe-American applications; Environmental medicine

M

Gautam Mitra

Mitra, Gautam

Professor
Graduate Studies Director
gautam.mitra@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5816
208A Hutchison Hall

Interests: Tectonic evolution of mountain belts; Finite strain and strain history analysis; Deformation mechanisms in rocks

Photo unavailable

Murray, Lee

Assistant Professor
lee.murray@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2077
479 Hutchison Hall

P

Vasilii Petrenko

Petrenko, Vasilii

Assistant Professor
Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator/Wilmot Assistant Professor
vpetrenk@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6094
228 Hutchinson Hall
Website

Interests: Understanding natural and anthropogenic climate and environmental change, particularly from the perspective of atmospheric composition and chemistry.

Robert Poreda

Poreda, Robert J.

Professor
robert.poreda@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0051
224 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Professor Poreda's research focuses on novel applications of noble gas chemistry to the earth sciences, in seven diverse areas.

S

T

John A. Tarduno

Tarduno, John A.

Professor
Chair
john.tarduno@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5713
227 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Paleomagnetism, Geomagnetism and Geodynamics, including rates of plate tectonic, hotspot and polar motion, mantle plume volcanism, long-term history of Earth's magnetic field (paleointensity, paleosecular variation and reversal frequency), origin of the geodynamo, magnetic shielding and planetary habitability, decay of the modern dipole magnetic field and archeomagnetism; Cretaceous climate; environmental magnetism.

Dustin Trail

Trail, Dustin

Assistant Professor
dustin.trail@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7182

Interests: Experimental geochemistry; early Earth - including understanding the origin(s) of the oldest terrestrial rocks and minerals; planetary geology; astrobiology; lunar geochemistry; "water" in nominally anhydrous minerals; isotope geochemistry and geochronology of accessory minerals; redox chemistry of magmas, fluids, and minerals - including the application of synchrotron-based techniques

W

Profile Image

Weber, Thomas

Assistant Professor
t.weber@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2103
126 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Ocean biogeochemical cycles, trace element oceanography, marine ecosystems and their response to climate change