Skip to main content

People

Advisory Committee

 
Stephanie Ashenfelder

Ashenfelder, Stephanie

Studio Arts Program Coordinator
stephanie.ashenfelder@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5995
Sage Art Center
Website

Person's photo

Bernardi, Joanne

Professor of Japanese and Film and Media Studies
Head for the Japanese Program
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
409 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture, especially popular culture; film and media studies; visual and material culture; moving image archiving and preservation; travel and tourism studies; nuclear culture; digital humanities; ephemera studies; object-based learning

Mark Bocko

Bocko, Mark

Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor, Physics & Astronomy
Director, Center for Emerging and Innovative Sciences (CEIS)

Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
mark.bocko@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4879
518 CSB

Interests: Audio and acoustic signal processing; Computer audition; Sensors and transducers

Profile Photo

Burges, Joel

Assistant Professor of English
joel.burges@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2694
413 Morey Hall

Interests: Post-1945 cultural studies; media studies; critical theory; American and contemporary literature

Peter Christensen

Christensen, Peter

Assistant Professor of Art History
peter.christensen@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7173
516 Morey Hall
Website

Interests: 19th and 20th century architectural history; Geopolitical theory and its impact on architecture; Historicism; History and aesthetics of infrastructure and industry; Critical digital humanities; Cartography and architecture

Profile Image

Dimmock, Nora

Film and Media Studies Librarian
nora.dimmock@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5010
229 Rush Rhees Library

Morris Eaves

Eaves, Morris

Professor of English and Richard L. Turner Professor of Humanities
Director, A. W. Mellon Graduate Program in the Digital Humanities for the School of Arts & Sciences
morris.eaves@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9025
301 Morey Hall

Interests: British Romanticism; Media history and theory; Editorial theory; William Blake Archive Project

George Ferguson

Ferguson, George

Sr. Lecturer: Associate Program Director of Computer Science Undergraduate and Master's Studies
ferguson@cs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5766
2103 Wegmans Hall
Website

Interests: Artificial intelligence; Intelligent agents; Agent communication languages; Agent architectures; User interfaces: speech recognition, natural language understanding, dialogue, conversational agents; Temporal reasoning: representation, planning, scheduling; Semantic web: ontologies, knowledge-based systems

Ted Pawlicki

Pawlicki, Thaddeus E.

Senior Lecturer
pawlicki@cs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4198
2101 Wegmans Hall
Website

Interests: Undergraduate eduction; Robotics; Computer vision; Artificial intelligence

Cary Peppermint doing acoustic radar research during a residency at the Center for Land Use Interpretation

Peppermint, Cary

Associate Professor of Art and Digital Media Studies
cpepperm@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5994
Sage Art Center
Website

Interests: Art in the Anthropocene; Art Apps for Mobile Devices; Digital Art and New Media Studies; Environmental Art and Humanities; Food Studies; Psychogeography; Experimental Video Art

Profile Photo

Saab, A. Joan

Associate Professor, Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
Chair for Department of Art and Art History
joan.saab@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7922
506 Morey Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century American cultural history; media and culture; urban and community studies; popular culture; cultural studies; aesthetic categories and values

Allen Topolski

Topolski, Allen

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor for Studio Arts
allen.topolski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3994
Sage Art Center
Website

Interests: Studio production that incorporates found materials and a variety of processes to explore nostalgia and memory in technologies of domesticity and convenience.