Skip to main content

Undergraduate Programs


Dr. Holly Atkinson Undergraduate Prize

The Atkinson Award is given to the undergraduate student (or students) majoring in public health who best exemplifies advocacy in the public health arena. 


  • 2018—Caryl English
  • 2017—Chiziterem Onyekwere
  • 2016—Rachel Weitzner
  • 2015—Brianna Isaacson
  • 2014—Alice Gao
  • 2013—Oladoyin Oladeru
  • 2012—Daniel Cohn
  • 2011—Rohini Bhatia and Anupa Gewali

The award was founded by Holly Atkinson, MD, the health care journalist and advocate. A graduate of the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Dr. Atkinson is the director of the Human Rights Program at the Mt. Sinai Global Health, an assistant professor of medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine, and the chief medical officer and senior health correspondent for Healthination. She is also a past president of Physicians for Human Rights.