Skip to main content

People

Associated Faculty

 
Matthew Baileyshea

BaileyShea, Matthew

Associate Professor of Music, College Department of Music, University of Rochester
Associate Professor of Music Theory, Eastman School of Music

matthew.baileyshea@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9398
1-310 Dewey Hall

Person's photo

Bernardi, Joanne

Professor of Japanese and Film and Media Studies
Head for the Japanese Program
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
409 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture, especially popular culture; film and media studies; visual and material culture; moving image archiving and preservation; travel and tourism studies; nuclear culture; digital humanities; ephemera studies; object-based learning

Person's photo

Givens, John

Associate Professor of Russian
Chair for the Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
Head for the Russian Program

johngivens@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
408A Lattimore Hall

Interests: Russian language and literature; Russian film; translation

Kenneth Gross

Gross, Kenneth

Alan F. Hilfiker Distinguished Professor of English
kenneth.gross@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4098
404B Morey Hall

Interests: Shakespeare; lyric poetry; Renaissance literature; romance

Jennifer Grotz

Grotz, Jennifer

Professor
jennifer.grotz@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4092
406 Morey Hall

Interests: Poetry; creative writing; translation

Susan Gustafson

Gustafson, Susan E.

Karl F. and Bertha A. Fuchs Professor of German Studies
Head for the German Program
susangustafson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4251
425 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: German literature of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries; feminism and gender studies; psychoanalysis

Gregory Heyworth

Heyworth, Gregory

Associate Professor of English and Textual Science; Director, Lazarus Project
gheywort@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2548
408 Morey Hall

Beth J├Ârgensen

J├Ârgensen, Beth E.

Professor of Spanish
beth.jorgensen@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4265
422 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century Spanish-American literature, with an emphasis on Mexico; women writers; theory and practice of literary nonfiction; Mexican chronicle; disability studies

Rosemary Kegl

Kegl, Rosemary

Associate Professor
Chair of the Department for English
rosemary.kegl@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4092
423A Morey Hall

Interests: Shakespeare and English Renaissance drama; early modern literature and culture; literary theory; gender studies

Bette London

London, Bette

Professor
bette.london@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3510
304 Morey Hall

Interests: Twentieth-century British literature; Victorian literature and culture; feminist theory; women's writing; authorship studies

James Longenbach

Longenbach, James

Joseph Henry Gilmore Professor of English
james.longenbach@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4587
401A Morey Hall

Interests: Modernism; poetry; creative writing

John Michael

Michael, John

Professor of English and Visual and Cultural Studies
john.michael@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4974
405 Morey Hall

Interests: American literature; critical theory; cultural studies

Leila C. Nadir

Nadir, Leila C.

Assistant Professor for Arts & Sciences
Director for Environmental Humanities Program
lnadir@ur.rochester.edu

Interests: Sustainability; environmental philosophy and ethics; environmental art and studies; ecocriticism

Allen Orr

Orr, H. Allen

University Professor
Shirley Cox Kearns Professor
allen.orr@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3838
342 Hutchison
Website

Interests: Genetics of speciation in Drosophila; Genetics and theory of adaptation; Population genetics

Person's photo

Prendergast, Ryan

Associate Professor of Spanish
ryan.prendergast@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4113
430 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Representations of identity and difference in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Spain and Spanish America

Faculty Profile Image

Rossen-Knill, Deborah, MFA, PhD

Associate Professor
Writing, Speaking, and Argument Program Director
deb.rossen-knill@rochester.edu | (585) 273-3583
G-122NC Rush Rhees Library

UR photo

Rozenski, Steven

Assistant Professor
srozensk@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-7325
416 Morey

Interests: Middle English devotional literature; translation studies; book history; medieval German and Dutch literature; trans-Reformation England

Profile Photo

Rubin, Joan S.

Dexter Perkins Professor in History
joan.rubin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9347
365 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century American Cultural and Intellectual History; The History of the Book

Person's photo

Schaefer, Claudia

Rush Rhees Chair
Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
Professor of Film and Media Studies

claudia.schaefer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5569
418 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Nineteenth-, twentieth- and twenty-first-century Hispanic literatures and cultures; Spanish cinema; critical theory; popular culture; the visual arts; Spanish modernity; the culture of science in Spain; surrealism in Spain; digital humanities

Stephen Schottenfeld

Schottenfeld, Stephen

Associate Professor of English
s.schottenfeld@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6477
414 Morey Hall

Interests: Modern and contemporary literature; fiction writing; playwriting; screenwriting

Joanna Scott

Scott, Joanna

Roswell Smith Burrows Professor of English
Director for Literary Arts Programs
joanna.scott@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2784
404C Morey Hall

Interests: Modern and contemporary fiction; the art of imaginative writing

Person's photo

Stocchi-Perucchio, Donatella

Associate Professor of Italian
Head for the Italian Program
donatella.stocchi-perucchio@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5723
405 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Dante; nineteenth-century poetry and prose; fascism

Sharon Willis

Willis, Sharon

Professor, Art and Art History/Visual and Cultural Studies
sharon.willis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5757
517 Morey Hall

Interests: Film history and theory; visual and cultural studies; women's studies and feminist theory; comparative literature and critical theory; French cinema; 19th and 20th century French literature