People

Faculty

 

B

Joanne Bernardi

Bernardi, Joanne

Associate Professor of Japanese
joanne.bernardi@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4268
409 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Japanese cinema and culture; the history and historiography of moving images and other visual media; material culture studies; and critical digital humanities practice

Joel Burges

Burges, Joel

Assistant Professor of English
joel.burges@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2694
413 Morey Hall

Interests: Post-1945 cultural studies; media studies; critical theory; American and contemporary literature

C

Greg Carlson

Carlson, Greg

Professor, Linguistics, Philosophy and Brain & Cognitive Sciences
gregory.carlson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5907
507 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Semantic Theory; Psycholinguistics; Discourse

Elizabeth Cohen

Cohen, Elizabeth

Associate Professor of Art
elizabethcohen@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5998
Sage Art Center

Interests: Contemporary art and video production; Critical theory; Three-dimensional media; New media production

Jennifer Creech

Creech, Jennifer

Associate Professor of German
jennifer.creech@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4273
428 Lattimore Hall

Douglas Crimp

Crimp, Douglas

Fanny Knapp Allen Professor of Art History and Professor of Visual and Cultural Studies
douglas.crimp@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5622

Interests: Contemporary art; criticism and theory; dance and dance film

E

Morris Eaves

Eaves, Morris

Professor of English and Richard L. Turner Professor of Humanities Director, A. W. Mellon Graduate Program in the Digital Humanities of the School of Arts & Sciences
morris.eaves@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9025
301 Morey Hall

Interests: British Romanticism; Media history and theory; Editorial theory

G

George Grella

Grella, George

Associate Professor of English and Film Studies
george.grella@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9265
420 Morey Hall

Interests: Nineteenth and twentieth-century American literature; Twentieth-century British literature; Film; The novel

H

Sarah Higley

Higley, Sarah

Professor of English and of Film and Media Studies
sarah.higley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9261
411 Morey Hall

Interests: Medieval vernacular languages and literature of Northern Europe; film and media studies; fiction

June Hwang

Hwang, June

Associate Professor of German
june.hwang@rochester.edu
429 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Film history and theory; critical theory and cultural studies; contemporary German culture and film; Weimar Cinema; German Jewish Studies; representations of the Holocaust

M

Jason Middleton

Middleton, Jason

Associate Professor of English and of Film and Media Studies
Director of Film and Media Studies Program
jason.middleton@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9372
511 Morey Hall

Interests: Film/media including documentary, horror, and experimental film; affect and embodiment; critical theory; cultural studies; transmedia aesthetics

P

Cary peppermint

Peppermint, Cary

Assistant Professor of Art and Digital Media Studies
cary.peppermint@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5994
Sage Art Center

Interests: Art Apps for Mobile Devices; Digital Art and New Media Studies; Environmental Art and Humanities; Food Studies; Psychogeography; Experimental Video Art

R

Raul Rodriguez-Hernandes

RodrÍguez-Hernández, Raúl

Associate Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
Spanish Program Head

raul.rodriguez-hernandez@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4257
420 Lattimore Hall

S

Claudia Schaefer

Schaefer, Claudia

Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature; Rush Rhees Chair
caludia.schaefer@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4253
408A Lattimore Hall

Reinhild Steingröver

Steingröver, Reinhild

Professor of German at the Eastman School of Music
Chair, Humanities Department

rsteingrover@rochester.edu | (585) 274-1616
204 Eastman Theater ET

T

Allen Topolski

Topolski, Allen

Associate Professor
allen.topolski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3994
Sage Art Center

Interests: Studio production that incorporates found materials and a variety of processes to explore nostalgia and memory in technologies of domesticity and convenience.

W

Sharon Willis

Willis, Sharon

Professor of Art and Art History and Visual and Cultural Studies
Interim Program Director, Visual and Cultural Studies

sharon.willis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9249
508 Morey Hall

Interests: Film history and theory; visual and cultural studies; women's studies and feminist theory; comparative literature and critical theory; French cinema; 19th and 20th century French literature