Skip to main content

People

Anthropology Department Faculty

 
Kristin Doughty

Doughty, Kristin

Assistant Professor
kristin.doughty@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5155
437 Lattimore Hall

Interests: political and legal anthropology; politics of reconciliation; transitional justice; violence and conflict; memory; politics of energy; Africa; Rwanda

Robert Foster

Foster, Robert J.

Professor of Anthropology and Visual and Cultural Studies, Richard L. Turner Professor of Humanities
robert.foster@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8741
445 Lattimore
Website

Interests: Political economy; Material culture; Globalization ; Corporations ; Commercial media ; Mobile phones; Papua New Guinea, Melanesia

Thomas Gibson

Gibson, Thomas P.

Professor
thomas.gibson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8739
442 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Indigenous peoples of Southeast Asia; The anthropology of war and peace; Cosmology and state formation; Islamic states; Religious nationalism in the Indian Ocean; Colonialism and bureaucracy

Kathryn Mariner

Mariner, Kathryn

Assistant Professor
kathryn.mariner@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8734
444 Lattimore Hall

Interests: cultural anthropology; kinship and adoption; social work; politics of race, class, and gender; United States

John Osburg

Osburg, John

Associate Professor
john.osburg@rochester.edu | (585) 273-3329
436 Lattimore Hall

Interests: China; Capitalism; Postsocialism; Gender; Political corruption and organized crime; Buddhist revival in China

Daniel Reichman

Reichman, Daniel

Associate Professor
Chair of Anthropology
daniel.reichman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8737
439 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Globalization and trade; migration and transnationalism; food, development, and environment; coffee industry; Latin America; Honduras, Brazil

Llerena Searle

Searle, Llerena G.

Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies for Anthropology
Llerena.searle@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8740
443 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Urbanization; infrastructure; capitalism and global finance; value; speculation; material culture; media and consumer cultures; South Asia