People

Faculty

The Philosophy faculty members have a variety of specialties in philosophy and represent diverse philosophical perspectives. Philosophical issues addressed include both traditional topics from areas such as epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, political philosophy, and the philosophy of science, and also the most recent contemporary concerns. The techniques brought to bear on these issues are analytical, formal, and historical.

Current Faculty

A

Paul Audi

Audi, Paul

Associate Professor in Philosophy
paul.audi@rochester.edu
Lattimore Hall

C

Gregory Carlson

Carlson, Gregory N.

Professor of Linguistics
Professor of Philosophy
Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences

gregory.carlson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5907
506 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Semantic Theory; Psycholinguistics; Discourse

Hayley Clatterbuck

Clatterbuck, Hayley

Assistant Professor in Philosophy
hayley.clatterbuck@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8109
523 Lattimore Hall

Earl Conee

Conee, Earl

Professor of Philosophy
earl.conee@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8115
528 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Ethics; Epistemology; Philosophy of Mind

Randall Curren

Curren, Randall

Professor of Philosophy
Chair of the Department
randall.curren@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8112
532 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Ethics; Moral Psychology; Philosophy of Education; Ancient Philosophy

D

Richard Dees

Dees, Richard

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Associate Professor of Bioethics

Director of Program in Bioethics
richard.dees@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8110
529 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Ethics; Public Health Ethics; Social and Political Philosophy; History of Moral and Political Philosophy

F

Richard Feldman

Feldman, Richard

Professor of Philosophy
Dean of the College
richard.feldman@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5001
518 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Epistemology; Metaphysics

William J. FitzPatrick

FitzPatrick, William J.

Gideon Webster Burbank Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy
william.fitzpatrick@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8107
525 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Metaethics; Normative Ethics; Bioethics; Philosophy of Biology

H

Robert Holmes

Holmes, Robert L.

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy
hlms@mail.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8146

Interests: Ethics; Social Philosophy; Philosophy of War

M

Ralf Meerbote

Meerbote, Ralf

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy
ralf@ralfandjanice.com

Interests: Kant; Epistemology; History of Early Modern Philosophy; Aesthetics; Philosophy of Religion

Deborah Modrak

Modrak, Deborah

Professor of Philosophy
deborah.modrak@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8111
527 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Aristotle; History of Ancient Philosophy; Philosophy of Mind

P

Alison Peterman

Peterman, Alison

James P. Wilmot Assistant Professor of Philosophy
alison.peterman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8146
520 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Early Modern Philosophy; History of Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Perception

S

Brett Sherman

Sherman, Brett

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
brett.sherman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5402
519 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

T

Jon Tresan

Tresan, Jonathan

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
j.tresan@rochester.edu
526 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Metaethics; Normative Ethics; Applied Ethics; Moral Psychology; History of Ethics

W

Edward Wieranga

Wierenga, Edward

Professor of Philosophy
Professor of Religion and Classics

edward.wierenga@rochester.edu | (585) 275-9370
430 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Philosophy of Religion; Metaphysics