Skip to main content

People

Faculty

The Philosophy faculty members have a variety of specialties in philosophy and represent diverse philosophical perspectives. Philosophical issues addressed include both traditional topics from areas such as epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, political philosophy, and the philosophy of science, and also the most recent contemporary concerns. The techniques brought to bear on these issues are analytical, formal, and historical.

Current Faculty



A


Paul Audi

Audi, Paul

Associate Professor in Philosophy
paul.audi@rochester.edu
522 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, and Philosophy of Language

C


Hayley Clatterbuck

Clatterbuck, Hayley

Assistant Professor in Philosophy
hayley.clatterbuck@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8109
523 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Philosophy of Science, particularly philosophy of biology and cognitive science

Earl Conee

Conee, Earl

Professor of Philosophy
earl.conee@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8115
528 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Ethics; Epistemology; Philosophy of Mind

Randall Curren

Curren, Randall

Professor of Philosophy
Chair of the Department
randall.curren@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8112
532 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Ethics; Moral Psychology; Philosophy of Education; Ancient Philosophy

D


Richard Dees

Dees, Richard

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Associate Professor of Bioethics

Director Program in Bioethics
richard.dees@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8110
529 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Ethics; Public Health Ethics; Social and Political Philosophy; History of Moral and Political Philosophy

F


Richard Feldman

Feldman, Richard

Professor of Philosophy
richard.feldman@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5001
518 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Epistemology; Metaphysics

William J. FitzPatrick

FitzPatrick, William J.

Gideon Webster Burbank Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy
william.fitzpatrick@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8107
525 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Metaethics; Normative Ethics; Bioethics; Philosophy of Biology

H


Robert Holmes

Holmes, Robert L.

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy
...

Interests: Ethics; Social Philosophy; Philosophy of War

M


Ralf Meerbote

Meerbote, Ralf

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy
ralf@ralfandjanice.com

Interests: Kant; Epistemology; History of Early Modern Philosophy; Aesthetics; Philosophy of Religion

Deborah Modrak

Modrak, Deborah

Professor of Philosophy
deborah.modrak@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8111
527 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Aristotle; History of Ancient Philosophy; Philosophy of Mind

P


Alison Peterman

Peterman, Alison

Associate Professor of Philosophy
alison.peterman@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8146
520 Lattimore Hall
Website

Interests: Early Modern Philosophy; History of Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Perception

T


Jon Tresan

Tresan, Jonathan

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
j.tresan@rochester.edu
521 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Metaethics; Normative Ethics; Applied Ethics; Moral Psychology; History of Ethics

W


Edward Wierenga

Wierenga, Edward

Emeritus Professor of Philosophy
Emeritus Professor of Religion and Classics

edward.wierenga@rochester.edu
427 Rush Rhees Library

Interests: Philosophy of Religion; Metaphysics