Skip to main content

People

Secondary Faculty

 


A


Profile photo

Allen, James F.

John H. Dessauer Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Linguistics
Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences

james@cs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7263
3011 Wegmans Hall
Website

Interests: Natural language understanding; Discourse; Knowledge representation; Common-sense reasoning; Planning

B


Loisa Bennetto

Bennetto, Loisa

Chair
Associate Professor of Psychology, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, and Neuroscience

loisa.bennetto@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8712
354 Meliora Hall
Website

C


Greg Carlson

Carlson, Greg

Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
gregory.carlson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5907

Interests: Semantic Theory; Psycholinguistics; Discourse

D


Charles Duffy

Duffy, Charles

Professor Neurology, Neuroscience, Center for Visual Science
charles_duffy@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1696
6-8535 MC
Website

Interests: Neural processing of motion, spatial orientation

G


Daniel Gildea

Gildea, Daniel

Professor of Computer Science
gildea@cs | (585) 275-7230
3019 Wegmans Hall
Website

Interests: Statistical approaches to natural language processing; Machine translation; Language understanding

H


Suzanne Haber

Haber, Suzanne

Professor, Pharmacology & Physiology, Neuroscience, Brain and Cognitive Sciences
suzanne_haber@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6959
5-6518 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Basal Ganglia; degenerative disease

Krystel Huxlin

Huxlin, Krystel

Professor Neuroscience, Brain & Cognitive Sciences and Center for Visual Science
James V. Aquavella Professor Ophthalmology
Associate Chair for Research David and Ilene Flaum Eye Institute
URMC Ombudsperson
Associate Director Center for Visual Science

khuxlin@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5495
G-3186 MC
Website

Interests: Improving vision after damage

K


Celeste Kidd

Kidd, Celeste

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Center for Visual Science
Ckidd@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: development; learning; attention; decision-making; computational modeling

David Kornack

Kornack, David

Associate Professor, Neuroscience
david_kornack@urmc.rochester.edu | (MC) (585) 273-3140, (Mel) (585) 273-4719
5-7215 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Neurogenesis in the Developing and Adult Mammalian Brain

L


Feng Vankee Lin

Lin, Feng Vankee

Assistant Professor, Nursing, Psychiatry, and Brain & Cognitive Sciences
vankee_lin@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6002
2w128 Helen Wood Hall
Website

M


Brad Mahon

Mahon, Brad

Visiting Associate Professor, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Neurosurgery, Neurology, Center for Visual Science, Center for Language Sciences
Scientific Director Program for Translational Brain Mapping
mahon@rcbi.rochester.edu
Website

Elizabeth Marvin West

Marvin, Elizabeth West

Professor, Eastman School of Music, Brain and Cognitive Sciences
bmarvin@esm.rochester.edu | (ESM) (585) 274-1076, (Mel) (585) 275-1812
26 Gibbs Street ESM
Website

Interests: music cognition

William Merigan

Merigan, William

Professor Ophthalmology, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Center for Visual Science
wmerigan@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4872
G-4101 MC
Website

Interests: In Vivo Adaptive Optics Imaging of the Retina

Jonathon Mink

Mink, Jonathan

Professor, Neurology, Child Neurology, Neuroscience, Pediatrics, Brain and Cognitive Sciences
jonathan_mink@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2808
5-5511 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Physiology of movement; function of the basal ganglia; pathophysiology of movement disorders (Dystonia, Chorea); Tourette syndrome; Batten disease

P


Gary Paige

Paige, Gary

Professor Neuroscience, Otolaryngology, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Center for Visual Science
Professor Emeritus Neurology
gary_paige@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2591
5-7425 MC
Website

Interests: Multisensory Interaction and Adaptive Plasticity in Spatial Localization and Orientation

Tania Pasternak

Pasternak, Tatiana

Professor Neuroscience, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Center for Visual Science
tpastern@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8668
5-6409A MC
Website

Interests: Cortical Circuitry Underlying Memory-Guided Visual Decisions

Steven Piantadosi

Piantadosi, Steven

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Brain and Cognitive Sciences
spiantad@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: language learning, language processing, computational modeling

Martina Poletti

Poletti, Martina

Assistant Professor
martina_poletti@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4801, (585) 273-3081
312 Meliora Hall
Website

R


Lizabeth Romanski

Romanski, Lizabeth

Associate Professor, Neuroscience, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, and Center for Visual Science
Associate Chair Neurobiology & Anatomy
Liz_Romanski@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1469
Website

Jeff Runner

Runner, Jeffrey T.

Dean of the College in Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Professor of Linguistics and Brain & Cognitive Sciences
jeffrey.runner@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5000
317L Lattimore Hall

Interests: Experimental Syntax; Syntactic/Linguistic Theory; Binding Theory; Syntax Processing; Phrase Structure; Syntax/Semantics Interface

S


Marc Schieber

Schieber, Marc H.

Professor Neurology, Neuroscience, Center for Visual Science
mschiebe@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3369
6-8537 MC
Website

Interests: Neural control of hand and finger movements

T


David Temperley

Temperley, David

Professor of Music Theory, Eastman School of Music
dtemperley@esm.rochester.edu | (585) 274-1557
26 Gibbs Street
Website

W


David Williams

Williams, David R.

Professor Optics, Ophthalmology, Biomedical Engineering, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Center for Visual Science
Dean for Research in Arts, Sciences, and Engineering
Allyn Chair Medical Optics
Director Center for Visual Science

david@cvs.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6070
317 Lattimore Hall, G-4107 MC
Website

Interests: Limits of human vision