Prizes and Fellowships

Undergraduate Prizes and Fellowships

  • Academy of American Poets Prize
  • Dean's Prize in Creative Writing for Fiction
  • Dean's Prize in Creative Writing for Drama
  • Dean's Prize in Creative Writing for Poetry
  • Meredith Goodman Bernstein Prize
  • Pearl Sperling Evans Prize
  • Rishi Piparaiya Prize for Humor Writing

The Best Translated Book Award

The Best Translated Book Award, founded in 2007, draws attention to the best works of translated literature that came out the following year. The award’s emphasis is on the quality of the book and translation, with the argument that you can’t have a great work of literature without both of these aspects working at a very high level. The BTBA is conferred by Three Percent, the online literary magazine of Open Letter Books.

Starting with the 2009 award (all years given are for the year in which the winners are announced; the books are from the year previous), works of fiction and poetry were awarded separately. And beginning with the 2011 award, each winning author and translator received a $5,000 cash prize thanks to the Amazon Literary Partnership program. Thanks to this program, we have given out $100,000 in prizes to international authors and their translators.

The Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize

Since 1976, the Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies and the Department of English at the University of Rochester have awarded the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for fiction by an American woman.

This prize was created in honor and memory of Janet Heidinger Kafka, a young editor who was killed in a car accident just as her career was beginning. Those who knew her believed she would do much to further the causes of literature and women. Her family, friends, and professional associates created the endowment from which the prize is bestowed, in memory of Janet Heidinger Kafka and the literary standards and personal ideals for which she stood.

Each year a substantial cash prize is awarded annually to a woman who is a US citizen, and who has written the best book-length work of prose fiction, whether novel, short stories, or experimental writing. We are particularly interested in calling attention to the work of a promising but less established writer.

Past winners include Kathryn Davis, Sarah Shun-lien Bynum, Ursula LeGuin, and Toni Morrison.