2017–2018 Season

Click on a name a reader's name to bring up their photograph and information.

Next Reader

Jim Shepard

Barry Goldstein

Jim Shepard

Welles-Brown Room, Rush Rhees Library

March 6, 2018, 5:00 PM

Jim Shepard has written seven novels, including The Book of Aron, which won the Sophie Brody Medal for Excellence in Jewish Literature, the Harold Ribalow Award for Jewish Literature, the PEN/New England Award for Fiction, and the Clark Fiction Prize, and five story collections, including Like You’d Understand, Anyway, a finalist for the National Book Award and Story Prize winner, and most recently The World to Come. Six of his stories have been chosen for the Best American Short Stories, two for the PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, and one for a Pushcart Prize. He’s also won the Library of Congress/ Massachusetts Book Award for Fiction, the ALEX Award from the American Library Association, and a Guggenheim Fellowship.  He teaches at Williams College.