Nominations for the 2023 Howe Award are due May 26, 2023.


Harrison Estell Howe

The Harrison Howe Award was inaugurated in 1946 to honor one of the founders of the Rochester ACS Section. In addition to his role as a leader in the Rochester Section, Harrison Howe was the founding editor of Chemical and Engineering News and a fervent champion of industrial research and development. It was his belief that chemistry and the pursuit of chemical knowledge contribute to the betterment of society. The Harrison Howe Award is given to acknowledge and support this idea through recognition of an outstanding chemist.

A distinguishing feature of the Harrison Howe Award is that many of the recipients have been recognized in the early stages of their careers. Linus Pauling, then just 44 years old, was the first Harrison Howe Lecturer in 1946. A complete transcript of Pauling's Inaugural Harrison Howe Lecture is available. As of 2011, 39% of Harrison Howe Award winners have eventually gone on to receive the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. A complete listing of all of the past awardees is also available.

The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium. The recipient will deliver a lecture at the annual Harrison Howe Award Symposium at the University of Rochester.

Learn More >

The Harrison Howe Award

The award will be granted to an individual without regard to nationality for outstanding contributions to research in chemistry defined in its broadest sense. The award typically recognizes a relatively young recipient with potential for further outstanding achievement.

Nomination Procedure

A complete nominating document, including: 1) a synopsis of the accomplishments of the nominee, 2) a curriculum vitae, and 3) a maximum of five reprints, should be submitted electronically to the Awards Chairman at A follow-up email should be sent to Professor David McCamant  to confirm receipt of the electronic nomination package.

In addition to the primary nominator’s recommendation, a maximum of two (2) supporting letters, containing information about the candidate not provided in the nominating document, may be attached to the nomination.

Winner must be able to attend the scheduled symposium and accept the award in Rochester, New York.


Complete nomination packages are due by May 26, 2023.

Nominations are accepted each year and are kept active for three (3) years. Updates to nominations are encouraged and are accepted at any time.


Donations are gratefully accepted for the Harrison Howe Award Fund at any time. Thank you for your support.