Senior Student Awards

Ayman Amin-Salem Memorial Prize

This award was established in memory of Ayman, who would have graduated with the Class if 1987, and is presented each year at Commencement to those members of the senior class who best evidence the quality of good character and good citizenship, such as decency, reliability, responsibility, and congeniality.

Irene Grace Bunde Acting Award

An award available annually to the woman who has shown by her performance, while a student, the most promise as a professional actress. A matriculated full-time woman who has successfully completed the requirements for and receiving a baccalaureate or master's degree in the humanities.

Janet Howell Clark Prize

This award has been given annually since 1960. It is presented to women in the senior class who have shown the greatest promise in creative work in physics, chemistry, biology, or astronomy and who have shown outstanding versatility in the mastery of allied fields.

Joseph O’Connor Graduate Study Endowment Fund

Established in 1957, this prize is presented to a woman in the senior class who has shown marked ability in English literature, in classical languages and literature, or in archeology.

Irene Bush Steinbeck Award

This award, established in 1979, is given in memory of Annette Gardner Munro, the first dean of women, and is awarded annually to graduating seniors from the School of Arts and Sciences who have made the most noteworthy contributions to human relations.

Wendy Jill Fread Prize

This prize was established in memory of Wendy Jill Fread, Class of 1975, and has been presented since that time to members of the senior class, who during four years as students, have been most effective in aiding fellow students to do well as students and as members of the University community.