Skip to main content

People

Graduate Students

 

A


Marissa Adams

Adams, Marissa B.

PhD Student
Advisor: Pierre Gourdain
Research Group: Plasma Physics
madams@pas.rochester.edu
108 Bausch and Lomb

Yunus Akbas

Akbas, Yunus E.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Roman Sobolewski
Research Group: Condensed Matter
yeakbas@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1916
2412 Laboratory for Laser Energetics

arroyo rivera edgar samuel

Arroyo-Rivera, Edgar Samuel

PhD Student
earroyor@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
Bausch and Lomb Hall 373

B


Daniel Barnak

Barnak, Daniel H.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Riccardo Betti
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
dbarn@LLE.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1916
2412 Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Aaron Bercellie

Bercellie, Aaron M.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
abercell@pas.rochester.edu
Fermilab

Nick Black

Black, Andy (Nick)

PhD Student
Advisor: Robert Boyd
ablack18@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5030
307 Wilmot

Arijit Bose

Bose, Arijit

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Riccardo Betti
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
arijit@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2429
2225 Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Website

brown zack

Brown, Zachery

PhD Student
zbrown5@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Sara Bucht Photo

Bucht, Sara

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dustin Froula
Research Group: Plasma Physics
sbucht@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6474
290A Laboratory for Laser Energetics

C


Mario Cabrera Photo

Cabrera, Mario S.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Bill Forrest
Research Group: Astronomy & Astrophysics
mcabrer2@ur.rochester.edu
426 Bausch & Lomb

Tejin Cai

Cai, Tejin

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
tejinc@pas.rochester.edu
Fermilab

cammarota christian

Cammarota, Christian

PhD Student
christian.cammarota@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Zhuo Chen

Chen, Zhuo

PhD Candidate
Research Group: Astrophysics
zhuochen@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8557
476 Bausch and Lomb
Website

Zekai Chen

Chen, Zekai

PhD Student
Research Group: Experimental Quantum Optics
zchen57@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4975
167 Bausch and Lomb

UR photo

Chin, David Alexander

PhD Student
dchin6@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Elliot Connors

Connors, Elliot

PhD Student
Advisor: John Nichol
Research Group: Experimental Condensed Matter
econnors@ur.rochester.edu
10 Bausch and Lomb

Linda Crandall

Crandall, Linda

PhD Student
Advisor: Rip Collins
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma
lcranda3@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Robert Cross

Cross, Robert M.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Segev BenZvi
Research Group: Astroparticle Physics
rcross@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8556
477 Bausch and Lomb

D


UR photo

Dasenbrock-Gammon, Nathan

PhD Student
nathandasenbrockgammon@gmail.com | (585) 275-8543
304 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Andrew Davies

Davies, Andrew S.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dustin Froula
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
adavies@LLE.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6474
290A Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Alex Debrecht

Debrecht, Alexander

PhD Student
Advisor: Adam Frank
Research Group: Astrophysics
adebrech@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8557
476 Bausch and Lomb

Gonzalo Diaz Bautista

Diaz Bautista, Gonzalo A

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
gonzalo@pas.rochester.edu
Fermilab

Meghan Dorn

Dorn, Meghan L.

PhD Candidate (Materials Science Graduate Student)
Advisor: Judith Pipher
Research Group: Materials Science, Infrared Detectors
mdorn3@ur.rochester.edu
426 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Yi-Ting Duh

Duh, Yi-Ting

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Regina Demina
Research Group: High Energy Physics
yiting@pas.rochester.edu
CERN

Joseph Dulemba

Dulemba, Joseph

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Regina Demina
Research Group: High Energy Physics
jdulemba@ur.rochester.edu | +41 (227) 677-897
CERN

E


Ben Ecker

Ecker, Benjamin R

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Yongli Gao
Research Group: Experimental Condensed Matter
becker@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8588
8 Bausch & Lomb

Thomas Eckert

Eckert, Thomas

PhD Student
Advisor: Chad Forrest
thomas.eckert@rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics
Website

Matthew Evans

Evans, Matthew

PhD Student
Advisor: Pierre Gourdain
Research Group: Plasma Physics
mevans15@ur.rochester.edu
108 Bausch and Lomb

F


Colin Fallon

Fallon, Colin

PhD Student
Advisor: Aran Garcia-Bellido
Research Group: High Energy Physics
cfallon2@ur.rochester.edu
Fermilab

Rob Fine

Fine, Robert

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
finer@pas.rochester.edu
Fermilab

flournoy jayvees

Flournoy, Jaymes

PhD Student
jflourno@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Philip Franke

Franke, Philip

PhD Student
Advisor: Dustin Froula
pfranke@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

G


Erik Garcell

Garcell, Erik

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Chunlei Guo
Research Group: Condensed Matter and Optical Physics
egarcell@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
402 Wilmot
Website

William Gorman

Gorman, William

PhD Student
Advisor: Jessica Shang
Research Group: Condensed Matter
wgorman2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2731
124 Gavett

griswold spencer

Griswold, Spencer

PhD Student
sgriswol@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

H


haber elisha

Haber, Elisha

PhD Student
ehaber@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
304 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Aaron Hansen

Hansen, Aaron M

PhD Student
Advisor: Dustin Froula
Research Group: Plasma Physics
ahansen8@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Marek Haruza

Haruza, Marek

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Nick Bigelow
Research Group: Experimental Quantum Optics
haruza@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4975
Off-Site

Surendra Hazarie

Hazarie, Surendra A

PhD Student
Advisor: Gourab Ghoshal
Research Group: Theoretical Condensed Matter
shazarie@ur.rochester.edu
468 Bausch and Lomb

Brian Henderson

Henderson, Brian

PhD Student
Advisor: Tom Boehly
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
bhender5@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Sarah Henry

Henry, Sarah

PhD Student
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
shenry11@ur.rochester.edu
362 Bausch and Lomb

hertzkintish daniel

Hertz-Kintish, Daniel

PhD Student
daniel.hertz-kintish@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Joshua Hinz

Hinz, Joshua

PhD Student
jhinz2@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb

howell ryan

Howell, Ryan

PhD Student
rhowell3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Maggie Huff

Huff, Maggie

PhD Student
Advisor: Rip Collins
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma
mhuff4@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

J


Maitreyi Jayaseelan

Jayaseelan, Maitreyi

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Nicholas Bigelow
Research Group: Experimental Quantum Optics
maitreyi@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4975
168 Bausch & Lomb Hall

K


kandel yaad

Kandel, Yadav Prasad

PhD Student
ykandel@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
Bausch and Lomb Hall 304

Sean Kelty

Kelty, Sean

PhD Student
Advisor: Joe Eberly
Research Group: Theoretical Quantum Optics
skelty@ur.rochester.edu
324 Bausch and Lomb

Dev Khaitan

Khaitan, Dev Ashish

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Frank Wolfs
Research Group: High Energy Nuclear Physics, Particle Astrophysics
dkhaitan@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4619
203G Bausch & Lomb Hall

Sreenath Kizhakkumpurath Manikandan

Kizhakkumpurath Manikandan, Sreenath

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrew Jordan
Research Group: Condensed Matter and Quantum Optics
skizhakk@ur.rochester.edu
325 Bausch and Lomb

Jeffrey Kleykamp

Kleykamp, Jeffrey D.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Steven Manly
Research Group: High Energy Physics
jkleykam@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4578
259 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Sam Knarr

Knarr, Samuel

PhD Candidate
Advisor: John Howell
Research Group: Quantum Optics
sknarr@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3896
4 Bausch & Lomb Hall

L


Luis Leal

Leal, Luis

PhD Student
Advisor: Riccardo Betti
Research Group: Plasma Physics
lleal@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Philippe Lewalle

Lewalle, Philippe

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Andrew Jordan
Research Group: Theoretical Quantum Optics and Condensed Matter
plewalle@pas.rochester.edu
316 Bausch & Lomb

Lucien Lo

Lo, Kin Ho

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Aran Garcia-Bellido
Research Group: High Energy Physics
lucien1011@gmail.com
CERN

Christina Loniewski

Loniewski, Christina

PhD Student
Advisor: Frank Wolfs
Research Group: High Energy Particle Physics
cloniews@ur.rochester.edu
203G Bausch and Lomb

Daniel Lum

Lum, Daniel

PhD Candidate
Advisor: John Howell
Research Group: Quantum Optics
daniel.lum@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3896
4 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Danika Luntz-Martin

Luntz-Martin, Danika

PhD Student
Advisor: Nick Vamivakas
Research Group: Optics
dluntzma@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2311
104 Wilmot Annex

M


Owen Mannion

Mannion, Owen M.

PhD Student
Research Group: Plasma Physics
omannion@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Ted Marschall

Marschall, Theodore

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Steve Teitel
Research Group: Condensed Matter Physics
marschat@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9956
457 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Brenda McLellan

McLellan, Brenda M.

PhD Student
Research Group: Condensed Matter
bmclell2@ur.rochester.edu

Samuel Mellon

Mellon, Samuel N.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Eric Mamajek
Research Group: Astrophysics
smellon@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5549
425 Bausch and Lomb

Avram Milder

Milder, Avram

PhD Student
Advisor: Dustin Froula
Research Group: Plasma Physics
amilder@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Sayat Mimar

Mimar, Sayat

PhD Student
Advisor: Gourab Ghoshal
Research Group: Theoretical Condensed Matter
smimar@ur.rochester.edu
474 Bausch and Lomb

Zaarah Mohamed

Mohamed, Zaarah L.

PhD Student
Advisor: Jim Knauer
Research Group: Plasma Physics
zmohamed@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Mongkol Moongweluwan

Moongweluwan, Mongkol

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Frank Wolfs
Research Group: Nuclear Physics
mmoongwe@pas.rochester.edu
203G Bausch & Lomb Hall

Chris Mullarkey

Mullarkey, Christopher A.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: John Howell
Research Group: Quantum Optics
cmullark@pas.rochester.edu
Off site

Joseph Murphree

Murphree, Joseph D.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Nicholas Bigelow
Research Group: Quantum Optics
murphree@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4975
167 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Kyle Murray

Murray, Kyle

PhD Student
kmurr10@ur.rochester.edu

N


Thomas Nevins

Nevins, Thomas

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Douglas Kelley
Research Group: Condensed Matter, Mechanical Engineering
tnevins@ur.rochester.edu
116 Mechanical Engineering

nguyen linh

Nguyen, Khanh Linh

PhD Student
lnguy17@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

nguyen quang

Nguyen, Quang

PhD Student
qnguyen8@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Mehr Un Nisa

Nisa, Mehr Un

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Segev Benzvi
Research Group: Astroparticle Physics
mnisa@ur.rochester.edu
477 Bausch and Lomb

O


Andrew Olivier

Olivier, Andrew

PhD Student
Advisor: Steve Manly
Research Group: High Energy Physics
aolivier@ur.rochester.edu
366 Bausch and Lomb

Oscar Osapoetra

Osapoetra, Laurentius

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Stephen McAleavey
Research Group: Condensed Matter Physics, Biological Physics
loscar@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 273-3444
303 Georgen Hall

P


Danae Polsin

Polsin, Danae N.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Tom Boehly
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
dpolsin@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2632
200C Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Q


Haifeng Qiao

Qiao, Haifeng

PhD Student
Advisor: John Nichol
Research Group: Experimental Condensed Matter
hqiao2@ur.rochester.edu
10 Bausch and Lomb

R


Evan Ranken

Ranken, Evan

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Regina Demina
Research Group: High Energy Physics
evan@pas.rochester.edu
Bausch and Lomb

Nicholas Reilly

Reilly, Nicholas

PhD Student
Advisor: Patrick Oakes
Research Group: Biological Physics
nreilly@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-3842
453 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Chang Dong Rho

Rho, Chang Dong

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Segev BenZvi
Research Group: Astroparticle Physics, High Energy / Nuclear Physics
crho2@ur.rochester.edu
477 Bausch & Lomb

Steven Rogers

Rogers, Steven D.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Qiang Lin
Research Group: Optical Science
steven.rogers@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8093
347 Hopeman, 315 - Lab Hopeman

rogers_spencer

Rogers, Spencer

PhD Student
sroge22@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8583
304 Bausch and Lomb Hall

JJ Ruby IV

Ruby, JJ

PhD Student
Advisor: Rip Collins
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma
jrubyiv@ur.rochester.edu
251 Bausch and Lomb

S


Rahul Saha

Saha, Rahul

PhD Student
Advisor: Rip Collins
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma
rahulsaha@rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Arnold Schwemmlein

Schwemmlein, Arnold K.

PhD Student
Advisor: Udo Schroeder
Research Group: Nuclear and Plasma Physics
aschwemm@ur.rochester.edu
472 Hutchison Hall

Austin Skeeters

Skeeters, Austin

PhD Student
Advisor: Patrick Oakes
Research Group: Biological Physics
askeeter@ur.rochester.edu
453 Bausch and Lomb

sprowal zaire

Sprowal, Zaire

PhD Student
zsprowal@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

John Steinmetz

Steinmetz, John

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrew Jordan
Research Group: Theoretical Quantum Optics
jsteinm3@ur.rochester.edu
324 Bausch and Lomb

Collin Stillman

Stillman, Collin

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Dustin Froula
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma & Laser Physics
cstillman@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6474
290A Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Mehreen Sultana

Sultana, Mehreen

PhD Student
Advisor: Kevin McFarland
Research Group: High Energy Physics
msultana@ur.rochester.edu
Fermilab

T


Greg Tabak

Tabak, Greg

PhD Student
Advisor: Rip Collins
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma
gtabak2@ur.rochester.edu
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

tan keane

Tan, Chin Lung

PhD Student
ctan12@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

tariq maida

Tariq, Maida

PhD Student
mtariq3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Rhys Taus

Taus, Rhys

PhD Student
Advisor: Arie Bodek
Research Group: High Energy Physics
rtaus@ur.rochester.edu | +41 (227) 674-490
CERN

Justin Tian

Tian, Justin

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Joe Eberly
Research Group: Theoretical Quantum Optics
x_j_tian@hotmail.com | (585) 275-8533
322 Bausch & Lomb Hall

tirumala carat

Tirumala, Sarat Chandra Kant

PhD Student
stiruma3@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

V


Jonathan VanCourt

VanCourt, Jonathan

PhD Student
jvancour@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
304 Bausch and Lomb

venkataraman arun

Venkataraman, Arun

MD/PhD Student
Advisor: Jianhui Zhong
Research Group: Imaging
arun_venkataraman@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
304 Bausch and Lomb Hall

verostek michael

Verostek Jr., Michael

PhD Student
mveroste@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0339
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Dylan Veyrat

Veyrat, Dylan

PhD Student
Advisor: Regina Demina and Segev BenZvi
Research Group: Cosmology
dveyrat@ur.rochester.edu
366 Bausch and Lomb

Andrew Vigoren

Vigoren, Andrew M.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Jim Zavislan
Research Group: Optics
avigoren@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5140
406 Goergen

W


Photo unavailable

Wang, Congcong

PhD Student - Material Science Dept.
Advisor: Yongli Gao
Research Group: Experimental Condensed Matter (Material Science Student)
cwang71@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8588
8 Bausch and Lomb Hall

watson carla

Watson, Carla

PhD Student
c.watson@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

westabdallah imani

West-Abdallah, Imani

PhD Student
iwestabd@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
478 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Justin Winkler

Winkler, Justin M.

PhD Candidate
Advisor: John Howell
Research Group: Quantum Optics
jwinkler@pas.rochester.edu
4 Bausch & Lomb Hall

Ka Ming Woo

Woo, Ka Ming

PhD Candidate
Advisor: Riccardo Betti
Research Group: High Energy Density Plasma and Laser Physics
jack.tiger1001@gmail.com
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Esteban Wright

Wright, Esteban

PhD Student
ewrig15@ur.rochester.edu
251 Bausch and Lomb

X


xie songbo

Xie, Songbo

PhD Student
sxie9@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8543
304 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Y


yang jing

Yang, Jing

PhD Student
Advisor: Andrew Jordan
Research Group: Theoretical Quantum Optics
jyang75@ur.rochester.edu
325 Bausch and Lomb Hall

Z


Gregory Zengilowski

Zengilowski, Gregory R.

PhD Student
gzengilo@ur.rochester.edu

Hongzhe Zhou

Zhou, Hongzhe

PhD Student
Advisor: Eric Blackman
Research Group: Astrophysics
hzhou21@ur.rochester.edu
476 Bausch and Lomb

zou yangyuxin

Zou, Yangyuxin (Amy)

PhD Student
yzou5@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4001
373 Bausch and Lomb Hall